Previous 1 ... 355 356 357 358 ... 360 362 364 366 368 ... 370 Next Exact page number ? OK

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & BALTARD (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29665

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : 1. Vue de Thèbes du plus loin qu'on peut l'appercevoir. 2. Vue de Qarnâc. 3. Autre vue de Qarnâc. (Planche 43).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40,5x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de 3 vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur : N° 1. Le voyageur aime à jouir du premier aspect de l'objet qu'il cherche, à le voir de loin placé dans un plus grand espace, à en comparer les masses, à en embrasser l'ensemble, comme on aime à observer le personnage auquel on va avoir affaire ; le lecteur doit avoir la même sensation: c'est ce qui m'a fait prendre souvent des vues très éloignées, qui semblent d'abord n'offrir qu'une ligne vague, et qui à l'examen deviennent de petites cartes topographiques, qui ont un genre d'intérêt particulier ; celle-ci offre toute la vallée de l'Egypte, terminée à l'est, à gauche du spectateur, par la chaîne arabique ; et à droite, à l'ouest, par la chaîne libyque ; le fleuve, dans la traversée de l'emplacement de Thebes, court d'abord du sud-est au nord-ouest, revient du sud-ouest au nord-est, et partage la ville. Sur la rive droite sont les ruines les plus apparentes de l'estampe, celles que l'on voit au milieu, et qui sont connues sous la dénomination de Karnak ; celles qui sont plus loin et du même bord, sont celles du temple qui est à Luxor ; l'endroit où sont deux statues, que l'on découvre de cinq lieues, est le Memnonium ; derriere sont les temples du village de Medinet-Abou, et en se rapprochant toujours sur la droite Kournou, qui sont les cinq points principaux de l'emplacement de l'ancienne Thebes, ceux où on retrouve ses grandes ruines.N° 2. La vue du grand temple de Karnak et d'une partie de l'emplacement de son enceinte ; la qualité saline du terrain de cette partie du site de Thebes a décomposé les grès, et produit des éboulements, des entassements, et une combustion, qui troublent l'intelligence des plans de cette ruine immense, qui, dans nombre d'aspects, n'offre plus que l'image d'un chantier de matériaux, au milieu desquels commence à s'élever l'édifice qu'ils doivent achever. En parcourant à plusieurs reprises tous les points de vue que présentent les parties de ce grand ensemble, celui qui m'a paru laisser voir le plus de formes qui pussent servir à l'intelligence de son plan est celui que j'ai pris de la porte de l'est : on voit d'abord sur le devant son mur d'enceinte couvert d'hiéroglyphes, les deux galeries, la grande cour, le sanctuaire, flanqué de deux portiques, les obélisques, les grandes avenues de colonnes, les portes, et au-delà de la cour les deux grands môles qui servent d'entrée à la partie opposée; à gauche ce qui reste des piecesd'eau, des monticules, des ruines des autres édifices contenus dans la même circonvallation, et tout au fond, de l'autre côté du fleuve, la chaîne libyque, et la montagne où sont les tombeaux des rois (voyez le plan , planche LXXXVIII.) N° 3. Vue des mêmes monuments, prise de la porte du sud, la mieux conservée et la moins enfouie ; on voit encore quelques sphinxs de l'immense avenue qui la précédoit, et qui arrivoit jusqu'à la porte d'un temple particulier, dont on voit la porte flanquée de deux môles ; dans le fond est la partie latérale du grand temple, dont le n° 2, même planche, est la vue ; on n'en voit que les deux grands môles ruinés, la seule colonne qui reste dans la premiere cour, et le commencement de l'avenue des colonnes colossales ; à droite de la porte du sud est une citerne ; sur le premier plan à gauche une partie du village de Karnak. Rousseurs, un infime accroc angulaire, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 "40,5x54cm" une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR230.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & BALTARD (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29670

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : 1. Vue de Thèbes. 2. Plan du Temple de Louqssor. (Planche 48).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40,5x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio non rognée, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de 2 vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur : N° 1. Vue générale de Thebes, prise du sud-est au nord-ouest, à la rive droite du fleuve, d'où l'on apperçoit tous les monuments de cette ville, excepté celui du village de Damhout ; à commencer à droite, où on voit six oiseaux, le village de Karnak, avec ses ruines ( voyez les vues prises de près, n° 2 et 3, planche XLIII, et le plan, n° 2, planche XCIII ) ; au milieu, sur une espece de promontoire formé par un coude du fleuve, celui de Luxor ( voyez le plan au-dessous de cette vue-ci, n° 2, et les vues n° 1 et 2, planche XLIX, et n° 1 et 2, planche L) ; immédiatement après, sur le troisieme plan, et à l'autre rive du fleuve, Kournou ( voyez la vue du monument, planche XLI, n° 6 ) ; en suivant sur la même ligne, le Memnonium ( voyez planche XLII, n° 5, et planche XLV, n° 1), les deux statues colossales (voyez planche XLIV, n° 1, et n° 2), et Médinet-Abou ( planche XLVI, n° 1 ), le tout couronné par les montagnes de la chaîne libyque: l'endroit où l'on apperçoit deux oiseaux est celui où est la vallée qui conduit aux tombeaux des rois ; à gauche, une isle cultivée, et au milieu, sur le premier plan, de ces isles basses sur lesquelles on voit souvent les crocodiles ; cette vue, qui se trouve être une espece de carte topographique de quatre lieues carrées, outre l'extrême intérêt de ses monuments, offre un aspect pittoresque par ses formes, par le mouvement du sol, et par la variété de ses couleurs.N° 2. Plan du temple de Luxor.On est étonné d'abord de voir la ligne centrale de cet édifice faussée à plusieurs reprises : on peut trouver trois causes à cet effet ; la premiere, c'est que, construit à diverses époques, comme presque tous les temples d'Égypte, on a bâti d'abord la partie du sanctuaire, qui est au sud, lettre T, agrandie des parties R, X, Y ; on aura fait le quai revêtu, pour empêcher que le courant, qui appuyoit sur la droite, ne vint dégrader le monument; on a même à plusieurs fois augmenté cette construction ; car l'épaulement, bâti en brique, est postérieur au quai revêtu ; et, malgré ces différentes précautions, le fleuve menace encore de tourner ces opérations, et de les détruire en les prenant au revers ; la cour M, les galeries NN, et l'avenue de colonnes colossales L, construites ensuite, ont changé de direction, parce qu'on a été obligé de suivre le plateau élevé, et le rocher calcaire, qui pouvoit seul servir de fondement à des masses si lourdes ; il est possible aussi que ces parties L, M, N, n'aient été faites que pour raccorder et unir les deux édifices C, E, G, à O, R, T, et Y : ce qui appuieroit cette derniere opinion, c'est que ces deux parties paroissent plus anciennes, soit par le style, soit par la couleur des pierres ; la troisieme opinion, qui est sans doute la plus hypothétique, est que les Égyptiens, ayant toujours paru sacrifier la rectitude géométrique et la symétrie réguliere, ont pu préférer les effets de perspective : ce qu'il y a de certain, c'est que l'étendue de ces édifices empêche d'en distinguer d'abord les irrégularités du plan, et que le faussement de la ligne centrale produit des effets plus riches et plus piquants que le seul point de vue géométrale ; que, ne tenant point aux petites considérations, les Égyptiens n'ont tendu qu'aux grands effets. On peut citer pour exemple la principale porte de ce monument, planche L ; il n'y a pas de plus belle conception architecturale, composée de moins de lignes, et qui produisent un effet plus grand ; et cependant les deux obélisques AA ne sont pas absolument égaux ; les deux statues BB ne sont pas tout-à-fait les mêmes; les sculptures qui couvrent les môles DD ne sont pas symétriques : mais tout cela est trop grand, trop magnifique pour qu'on ose chercher à quereller sur des regles ; on est étonné, et l'on admire. Ce qui par la réflexion doit surprendre encore, c'est qu'on ait su ajouter, d'une maniere si grandiose, des embellissements à des édifices déja anciens. A la comparaison du travail et au style de la sculpture il est évident que les obélisques et les statues ont été ajoutés postérieurement devant la porte, déja anciennement bâtie; il y a toute probabilité qu'une avenue de sphynxs arrivoit du temple de Karnak jusqu'à cette porte ; j'ai suivi cette allée dans cette direction, à plus de la moitié de l'espace qu'il y a entre ces deux monuments, qui est au moins d'un mille de chemin. De pareilles constructions semblent des rêves ou des contes de géants. La partie E, la plus voisine des môles, sert encore aujourd'hui de mosquée au village de Luxor, et en fait la plus belle mosquée de la haute Égypte. La partie F, parallele à celle E, étoit sans doute symétrique ; elle est détruite, et couverte d'habitations; G, H, I, étoit un sanctuaire particulier, dédié, suivant toute apparence, à quelque divinité particuliere, comme chez nous on voit la chapelle de S.-Thomas dans l'église de S.-Jean. La partie P a servi à une église catholique ; il n'en reste que des niches cintrées, taillées dans l'ancienne construction. Les couloirs Q ne me semblent avoir été conservés que pour y établit- des escaliers pour monter sur les combles, où je crois qu'il y avoit des tentes et des abris qui devenoient agréables à habiter à cause de la vue et de l'air ; les habitants actuels en ont senti l'avantage, et y ont construit des maisons. Il est à croire que les parties XZZ ont été les premieres entrées de ce temple , que Y et X en étoient les péristyles et portiques ; le corridor V, qui tourne autour du sanctuaire, et qui l'isole, lui donne le sentiment mystérieux et sacré d'un tabernacle ; les ornements en sont très soignés ; c'est la partie la plus enrichie de sculpture, celle où l'architecture est la plus riche de détails ; c'est la piece la plus petite, la plus magnifique, et celle qui a le plus de caractere; c'est le saint des saints. Les artistes égyptiens entendoient parfaitement cette partie des plans, cette magie de l'art agissant sur l'ame par les sens , ce développement de magnificence, cet accroissement d'intérêt par le mystere d'une lumiere sourde et presque éteinte, cette progression pour ainsi dire dramatique, faite pour produire les sensations les plus profondes, les plus analogues à la, religion, au gouvernement des Égyptiens , à seconder enfin l'empire du mystere. Et que l'on ose dire encore que c'étoit là l'enfance de l'art, quand c'est le nec plus ultra de ses moyens! Rousseurs, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 "40,5x54cm" une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR80.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & BALTARD (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29700

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : 1. Vue près de Syené. 2. Vue d'Eléphantine. 3. Vue de Philae (Planche 63).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40,5x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de 3 vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur : N° 1. Vue de Contra-Syene, à deux milles d'Éléphantine et de Syene, sur la rive gauche du Nil. A mi-côte de la montagne, à droite de l'estampe, est un couvent de cophtes, au-dessus une guérite à placer une védette, d'où on découvre tout le pays ; dans le troisieme plan, à gauche du Nil, une forêt de palmiers par laquelle on arrive à Syene ; et tout au fond la ruine d'un château arabe, comme il y en a beaucoup sur toute cette frontiere de l'Egypte ; sur le devant à droite une touffe de palmiers, les uns portant des fruits, les autres dans leur premiere croissance : au milieu un palmier-doum, avec ses branches bifourchues , et ses feuilles seches qui pendent sous les nouvelles. N° 2. Un des temples d'Éléphantine vu de l'est à l'ouest, avec les habitations modernes telles qu'elles existent, et qui contrastent si pittoresquement avec les monuments, qu'on ne pourroit les grouper avec plus de goût. N° 3. Vue de Philée de l'ouest à l'est au soleil levant ; cette isle est si pittoresque, que j'ai cherché à la présenter sous tous ses aspects et à tous les instants du jour (voyez les autres numéros où il en est question, planches LXXI et LXXII). Rousseurs marginales, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 "40,5x54cm" une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR250.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & BALTARD (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29662

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : Carte Plans et détails du Temple de Tentyris. (Planche 40).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40,5x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de 9 vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur:Le n° 9, que j'expliquerai d'abord, est la carte topographique de l'emplacement général de la ville de Tintyra, de ses ruines, et du gisement de ses temples, dont on a les vues pittoresques et géométrales planches XXXVIII et XXXIX, et dont le plan est détaillé sur cette même planche XL, n° 8. Le plus grand monument qui est au milieu de la carte est le grand temple, dont on peut voir les détails n° 8 ; ce qui est en avant est une porte ; et plus avant encore, dans la même direction, un petit temple qui n'a jamais été terminé, dont le plan est n° 7, et la vue particuliere, planche XXXVIII, n° 2. Le petit monument qui est derriere le grand temple a son plan particulier n° 1, et les détails de son entrée n° 3. Le monument à droite est un Typhonium, dont le plan est détaillé n° 6, et dont la vue particuliere est à la planche XXXVIII, n° 3. Les deux autres monuments à gauche sont deux portes ; c'est sur celle qui est la plus proche des temples qu'est l'inscription grecque que j'ai citée dans le journal, tome II, page 212. Tout le reste des ruines sont celles de constructions en briques qui n'ont conservé aucunes formes. Les montagnes figurées au haut de cette carte sont celles de la chaîne libyque ; la ligne blanche qui traverse est le chemin de Haw à Dindera ; les palmiers que l'on voit au bas désignent le point où arrive l'inondation et la culture : la vue générale de toute cette carte est planche XXXVIII, n° 1. Le n° 1, petit sanctuaire, dont la paroi est dégradée , mais dont l'intérieur est aussi bien conservé que bien travaillé : j'y ai pris divers tableaux hiéroglyphiques, dont je rendrai compte dans la suite du journal, et dans l'explication des planches de ce genre. Le n° 3 est le plan particulier de l'entrée des trois chambres du temple ci-dessus. Le n° 6 est le plan d'un temple dédié à Typhon , à en juger par les ornements des frises, où ce mauvais génie est toujours en attitude d'adoration devant la déesse Isis. Le portique, fort enfoui et fort en ruine, est représenté n° 3, planche XXXVIII. Le n° 7 est le plan du temple ouvert, qui n'a jamais été achevé, et dont on voit la ruine n° 2 , planche XXXVIII. Le n° 4 est une vue perspective d'une colonne isolée du péristyle du grand temple ; la partie carrée du chapiteau représente un temple avec la divinité sous le portique du sanctuaire; quatre faces d'Isis, avec des oreilles de vache, et la coiffure des femmes égyptiennes achevent de composer ce chapiteau; tous les ornements qui couvrent le fût sont exacts, ainsi que la base de la colonne, que j'ai fait fouiller pour m'en rendre compte. Le n° 5, le chapiteau renversé, et vu en plan. Le n° 2, une des gouttieres qui décorent les côtés de la nef. Le n° 8, le plan du grand temple et de son portique , soutenu de vingt-quatre colonnes semblables à celles n° 4 ; les plafonds sculptés et peints sont les zodiaques de la planche CXXXII, n° 1 et 2, et les n° 1 et 3 de la planche CXXXI. La piece qui suit, soutenue de six colonnes, est fort enfouie, et ne reçoit de jour que de la porte ; les chapiteaux des colonnes qui soutiennent les plafonds de cette piece sont composés du chapiteau de la colonne du portique; plus un chapiteau évasé , comme celui planche LX , n° 7 ; je n'ai pu juger du reste de la colonne. La piece qui suit, fort déblayée, est fort obscure ; celle au-delà, très ornée, recevoit un peu de jour de larmiers situés auprès du plafond; la lumiere est représentée en sculpture, sous l'embrasure du larmier, par des gouttes triangulaires qui vont toujours en se chassant et en s'agrandissant (voyez les rayons du soleil, planche CXXXII, n° 1) ; toute la face du fond de cette piece est décorée de la belle porte, dont je donne la vue n° 1, planche XXXIX ; rien ne dénote quel en étoit l'usage. La piece du fond étoit sans doute le sanctuaire ; elle ne recevoit de jour et d'air que de la porte, qui donnoit sur une piece déja fort obscure : s'il se faisoit quelques fonctions dans l'intérieur de ces temples, ce devoit être de nuit, car si les cérémonies religieuses n'eussent eu lieu qu'à l'extérieur, à quoi bon l'extrême magnificence des détails de la décoration intérieure? le sanctuaire, absolument déblayé, a été fouillé jusque sous le sol de son pavé, qui portoit sur le rocher aplani ; cette piece étoit isolée, comme tous les sanctuaires. Sans avoir pu pénétrer dans l'espace qu'il y a entre le mur du fond et celui de l'extérieur du temple, j'ai pu, par la comparaison des mesures intérieures et extérieures, juger de son espace : toutes les parties du plan qui sont ombrées sont des pieces trop encombrées où je n'ai pu pénétrer ; une des trois pieces latérales contient un escalier à palier, dont les marches n'ont que quatre pouces de hauteur, et qui monte sur la terrasse de la nef du temple, d'où un autre escalier latéral montoit encore sur la plate-forme la plus élevée du portique : les sculptures de ces escaliers sont aussi nombreuses et aussi soignées que celles du sanctuaire ; celles de l'escalier sont pour la plupart des figures de prêtres et de militaires présentant des offrandes ( voyez planche CXXI, n° 2 et 6 ). Le long des marches qui montoient à la plate-forme du péristyle étoient quatorze divinités sur quatorze marches, à-peu-près pareilles à celles représentées dans le plafond du portique, n° 3, planche CXXXI.A la partie extérieure du fond du temple il y a une tête d'Isis, semblable à celle de la corniche du péristyle, mais dans des dimensions colossales, à laquelle de chaque côté deux figures gigantesques sculptées en bas-relief présentent l'encens.Le n° 2 est un sphinx à tête de lion, servant de gouttiere à verser l'eau dont on arrosoit sans doute la plate-forme du temple, soit pour la nettoyer, soit pour la rafraîchir.Ce que j'ai encore à décrire de ce que j'ai pu ramasser à Tintyra consiste en détails hiéroglyphiques, aussi intéressants que ce que j'en ai déja représenté : j'y ai fait vingt voyages dans lesquels j'ai travaillé autant qu'il m'a été possible; je l'aurois habité six mois que je n'aurois pas achevé de rendre compte de tout ce qu'il y a d'intéressant. Discrètes rousseurs principalement marginales, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 "40,5x54cm" une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR100.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & BALTARD (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29767

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : Coiffures hiéroglyphiques. Vases dessinés d'après des bas-reliefs égyptiens. (Planche 115).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40,5x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio non rognée, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche ornée d'une gravure subdivisée en 69 figures, ainsi décrites par l'auteur : Une autre collection de toutes les coiffures emblématiques et hiéroglyphiques, prises partout où j'ai trouvé des différences. J'ai pu remarquer que la plupart de ces coiffures non seulement étoient posées sur la tête des divinités, mais encore sur celle des prêtres et des héros triomphateurs , et qu'elles étoient différentes suivant la fonction ou la circonstance de la fonction du culte de telle ou telle divinité : j'en ai trouvé en bois doré, en pierre dure, en pâte, et en porcelaine, ayant toutes un anneau qui les rendoit susceptibles d'être portées ; j'en ai vu attachées au cou des momies, et qui pourroient faire croire que c'étoient des amulettes indiquant telle ou telle divinité, ou une marque de dignité indiquant le grade d'initiation où étoit arrivé celui qui la portoit.Même planche, au-dessous des têtes, est encore une autre collection faite de tous les vases que j'ai trouvés sculptés dans les tableaux hiéroglyphiques de tous les différents monuments de l'Egypte; les N° 3, 6, 8, 10, 13, 19, ne sont pas moins élégants que les vases étrusques, ou, pour mieux dire, les vases grecs, trouvés en Italie, et qui, comme on peut le voir, ne sont autre chose que des vases égyptiens ; et ainsi peu-à-peu les arts des autres nations ne sont que les dépouilles de ceux des Egyptiens. Le n° 31 est la jarre, de même forme, montée en charpente, comme celle dont on se sert actuellement en Egypte. Discrètes rousseurs principalement marginales, un léger accroc marginal, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 "40,5x54cm" une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR100.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & BALTARD (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29696

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : Divers Chapiteaux de colonnes égyptiennes. (Planche 59).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de 12 vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur : Divers chapiteaux de colonnes égyptiennes ; cette planche, ainsi que celle qui suit, est un rapprochement de tous les différents chapiteaux que j'ai rencontrés offrant des particularités remarquables. A voir tant de formes différentes , unissant tant de richesses d'ornement à tant de graces dans les contours, on est tout étonné de s'être laissé aller à croire sur leur parole les Grecs inventeurs de l'architecture, et que trois ordres soient les seules vérités de cet art ; on peut dire qu'il ne manque à chacun de ces chapiteaux-ci qu'une histoire, comme celle de l'urne de la prêtresse de Corinthe, ou pour mieux dire, qu'ils n'ont pas besoin d'histoire pareille à celle du chapiteau corinthien, pour avoir la même célébrité, et pour être une superbe production de l'art. Les Égyptiens ont copié la nature ; ils ont copié la leur ; et les Grecs n'ont qu'ajouté des fables aux vols qu'ils leur ont faits. Ici le calice d'une fleur, au-dessus d'un faisceau de sa tige, a fourni la forme de la colonne, de sa base, et de son chapiteau : le lotus leur en a donné le premier modele ; cette plante exprimoit chez eux l'inondation ; elle étoit l'emblême de l'entrée du Nil dans les canaux, d'un grand bienfait de la nature en Egypte ; ils l'ont fait entrer dans la décoration de leur temple comme un hommage de leur reconnoissance à Isis qui présidoit à ce bienfait : comme déesse de la terre, ils lui en ont dédié toutes les productions, des tiges du lotus, de joncs, de palmiers, de vignes, etc., etc.Je n'avois dessiné ces membres d'architecture que pour m'en rendre compte, et aider mes graveurs dans l'intelligence de mes vues pittoresques ; mais arrivé à Paris, le citoyen Legrand, architecte éclairé , l'ami des arts et le mien, zélé pour tout ce qui peut étendre le domaine de l'architecture, et propager les connoissances, m'enhardit à donner au public et mes plans et les détails architecturals qui pouvoient ajouter de l'intérêt à mon ouvrage : la crainte que le citoyen Pere ne pût faire ou ne pût rapporter les opérations qui lui avoient été attribuées par la commission des arts en Egypte acheva de me déterminer à donner la foible esquisse de mes foibles moyens ; mais en attendant l'immortel ouvrage entrepris par le gouvernement, monument aussi colossal que les colossals monuments qu'il présentera, le lecteur sera bien aise de voir une petite image des formes aussi gracieuses que variées de tous ces significatifs chapiteaux , qui ornent d'une maniere explicative le culte du dieu dont ils décorent le temple. Le n° 1, sur un galbe très pur s'enlacent très agréablement les feuilles et les tiges du jonc ; le n° 2, composé de branches et de feuilles du palmier et du régime de son fruit, est peut-être le plus élégant de tous les chapiteaux connus ; et, sans avoir ici le même intérêt qu'en Egypte , il feroit encore la décoration la plus fastueuse d'une salle de fête ; le n° 3 est composé de plusieurs calices de la fleur du lotus groupés avec les feuilles de cette plante ; le n° 4, un faisceau de touffes de palmiers, lorsqu'au printemps les branches et les feuilles ne sont pas encore déployées, et où tout l'arbre ressemble à un seul bouton de fleur ; le n° 5 est composé ingénieusement du culot de la plante du lotus, de sa tige, et de sa fleur alternativement épanouie et en bouton, n° 9, les pampres de vigne mêlés à des palmiers, etc., etc. Cette variété de chapiteaux, si richement composés peut faire croire aux pompeuses descriptions qui nous ont été transmises de ceux du temple de Salomon, données dans l'écriture comme des chapiteaux corinthiens à feuilles de palmiers. Discrètes rousseurs marginales, un infime accroc marginal habilement restauré à l'aide d'un morceau de filmoplast, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 40x54cm une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR180.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & BALTARD (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29697

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : Divers Chapiteaux de colonnes égyptiennes. (Planche 60).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de 12 vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur : Cette estampe est une continuation de la planche précédente. Il est facile de remarquer dans le n° 3 l'origine de la volute ionique, les caulicoles du chapiteau corinthien, et les gouttes de l'entablement dorique ; n° 4, 5 et 6, que je crois pouvoir assurer être les plus anciens chapiteaux égyptiens, pourroient bien être l'image de la touffe de palmier avant d'être développée, mais est en effet le chapiteau dorique allongé ; le fût, n° 5 est un faisceau cordé de la tige triangulaire du papyrus, autre plante du Nil ; le n° 8, la tête d'Isis, avec tous ses attributs couronnant les colonnes du temple de Tintyra, dédié à cette déesse ; dans le n° 7 , tous les attributs de cette divinité ajoutés à l'emblême du débordement ; le n° 9 est tiré d'un temple qui paroît avoir été dédié à Typhon, dont on voit la figure sur un dé, qui n'est qu'un prolongement de la colonne, ce membre d'architecture, que je n'ai vu que dans la colonne égyptienne dégage le chapiteau, l'empêche de paroître écrasé par l'architrave, et produit un si bon effet lorsque l'on est près de la colonne, que je suis étonné qu'il n'ait jamais été imité ; le n° 10 est une espece de terme ne portant rien : j'en ai trouvé six comme celui-là placés par trois aux deux côtés de la porte d'un des tombeaux des rois à Thebes ; j'ai trouvé le n° 12 dans une des galeries du grand temple de Karnak. Infime insolation marginale, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 40x54cm une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR180.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & BALTARD (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29792

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : Face intérieure d'un temple dans l'isle Eléphantine. (Planche 128).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40,5x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio non rognée, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche ornée d'une gravure subdivisée en 5 figures, ainsi décrites par l'auteur :Toute cette planche a été dessinée d'après différentes parties du temple de Cneph, à Éléphantine (voyez planche LXVI, n° 2 et 3) ; les tableaux semblent représenter la consécration de ce temple par un héros, ou des sacrifices, pour se rendre les divinités propices et pour se mettre sous leur protection. N° 1. La partie extérieure latérale nord dudit temple. N° 2. La figure du héros prise à part, pour faire connoître les détails du costume, de la coiffure, du bandeau, du collier : j'ai vu un seul fragment de ce collier en nature ; il appartenoit à l'adjudant-général Morand ; il étoit en acier, damasquiné en or : des bracelets, une ceinture, avec une agrafe représentant une tête servant à relever le tonnelet, une queue, qui étoit une marque de dignité. Chaque fonction d'une même cérémonie avoit son habit particulier, comme on peut le remarquer même planche, n° 5, et mieux encore planche CXXXIV ; quelquefois par-dessus l'habit, n° 2, il a une grande robe blanche de voile transparent, à travers laquelle on distingue les formes et même les couleurs des vêtements qui sont dessous, comme on peut voir à la figure à droite dans le bas-relief n° 5 ; une espece de frange qui partoit de la ceinture étoit terminée par sept figures de serpen t; le brodequin étoit, comme on le voit, extrêmement simple. N° 3. Un des petits côtés des piliers qui soutiennent la galerie extérieure qui est autour du sanctuaire du temple. N° 4. Un des grands côtés des mêmes piliers. N° 5. Un grand tableau en bas-relief, qui tient tout un côté de l'intérieur du sanctuaire du temple ; il représente un sacrifice d'animaux domestiques, d'animaux sauvages, d'oiseaux, de poissons, de fleurs, de fruits ; le héros qui présente les offrandes tient d'une main l'encens, de l'autre l'eau lustrale. Sur un grand autel est un bateau, dans lequel est un temple qui paroît ne pouvoir pas contenir ce qui y est consacré. A gauche, sous une espece de table de promission, sont des fleurs de lotus, des palmes, et des figures emblématiques d'Isis ; et le groupe à droite, l'apothéose ou la protection accordée au héros par les deux grandes divinités : le tableau qui faisoit face à celui-ci n'a de différence que dans la figure qui offre le sacrifice, et qui, au lieu de tenir un vase d'eau lustrale, tient un groupe de pigeons par les ailes. J'ai pris toutes les inscriptions hiéroglyphiques avec une scrupuleuse exactitude. Rousseurs principalement marginales, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 "40,5x54cm" une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR60.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & BALTARD (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29661

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : Porte intérieure du Temple de Tentyris. Vue géométrale du Portique du Temple de Tentyris. (Planche 39).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40,5x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de 3 vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur : N° 1. Porte intérieure du sanctuaire du temple ( voyez le plan fig. 8, planche XL ). J'ai mesuré avec soin toutes les parties de ce superbe fragment de l'architecture égyptienne ; j'y ai placé avec exactitude les différents genres d'hiéroglyphes : j'y ai exprimé la conservation parfaite de cette partie de l'édifice ; ce qui fait que l'image que j'en donne devient tout à la fois une vue géométrale et une vue pittoresque. Le plan n° 2, que j'ai ajouté au bas, donnera la mesure de la saillie des différents membres de ce morceau d'architecture. N° 3. La vue géométrale du portique du grand temple : sur la plinthe de la corniche on voit une inscription grecque, trop élevée et trop fruste pour que ma vue m'ait permis de la copier ; je la crois une dédicace faite postérieurement par quelques gouverneurs de la province pour les Ptolomées : une autre inscription grecque, placée de même sur la porte du sud, et que j'ai copiée exactement, pourroit appuyer cette opinion ; au milieu de la corniche est en relief une tête d'Isis répétée partout : elle fait voir que le temple étoit dédié à cette divinité ; au-dessous, sur l'entablement, est le globe ailé qui occupe cette place dans tous les édifices ; cette même figure est répétée ici sur toutes les pierres en plates-bandes qui forment le plafond de l'entre-colonnement du milieu du portique. Les chapiteaux des colonnes , très extraordinaires par l'ornement qui les décore, produisent dans l'exécution un effet aussi noble que riche.La porte étoit formée de deux chambranles sans cymaise ; l'assise portant les gonds étoit en granit, ce qui pourroit faire soupçonner que cette partie du linteau recevoit à nu le frottement du gond ; le choix de cette matiere plus dure annonçant que l'emboîtement du gond n'étoit point en bronze ou en fer, mais que le gond en bois rouloit dans l'emboîtement de la pierre même. La partie qui engage les colonnes est enfouie ; je n'ai pu en voir les ornements n'ayant jamais eu le temps d'en faire faire la fouille ; j'y ai suppléé par ceux que j'ai trouvés sur le même membre d'architecture au temple ouvert de Philée. Légères rousseurs, une pliure, deux minuscules accrocs marginaux, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original print folio, taken from travel in Lower and Upper Egypt Vivant Denon. Board composed of 3 views as described by the author. # 1 interior door of the sanctuary of the temple (see map fig 8, ironing XL.). I carefully measured all parts of this beautiful fragment of Egyptian architecture; I put it accurately the different kinds of hieroglyphs: I expressed it the perfect preservation of this part of the building; so that the image I give becomes at once a géométrale view and picturesque views. Plan No. 2, I added at the bottom, give the measure of the projection of the different members of this piece of architecture. . # 3 The géométrale view of the portico of the great temple on the plinth of the ledge you see a Greek inscription too high and too crude for my sight has allowed me to copy; I think a dedication made subsequently by some governors of the province to the Ptolemies: another Greek inscription, placed along the south gate, and I copied exactly, might support this view; the middle of the ridge is a raised head Isis repeated everywhere: it shows that the temple was dedicated to this deity; below, on the entablature, is the winged globe who occupies this place in all buildings; the same figure is repeated here on any stone beds forming the ceiling of the inter-colonnement the middle of the portico. The capitals of the columns, very extraordinary in the ornament that decorates produce in implementing such a noble rich effect. The door was made of two casings without cymatium; Seat bearing hinges was granite Who could this be suspected that part of the lintel receiv'd bare the friction hinge; the choice of the hardest matter announcing the engagement of the hinge point was not bronze or iron, but the hinge wood rouloit in the nest of the stone itself. The party instituting the columns is buried; I could not see the ornaments never had the time to make make the search; I supplemented it with the ones I found on the same member of the open architecture of Philée temple. Light foxing, a fold, two tiny marginal snags, otherwise good condition. Published for the first time in two volumes, an atlas of engravings by Didot in 1802, the 'Travel in Upper and Lower Egypt was so successful that it was translated in 1803 into English and German, and a few years later in Dutch and Italian, among others. Almost all boards are designed by Denon, who also etched himself a few, including portraits of the inhabitants of Egypt, who still kept the freshness of sketches taken on the spot (Nos. 104-111 ). Two dozen writers have also collaborated on the creation of which Baltard, Galen, Reville and other etchings. Dominique Vivant, Baron Denon, Vivant Denon said, Givry born January 4, 1747 and died in Paris April 27, 1825, is a writer, writer, diplomat and French administrator. At the invitation of Bonaparte, he joined the expedition to Egypt in shipping from 14 May 1798 on the frigate ""La Juno."" Protected by French troops, he had the opportunity to travel the country in all directions, to gather the material that was the basis for his artistic work and the most important literary. It supports in particular the General Desaix in Upper Egypt, which he refers to numerous sketches, ink wash and other drawings in pen, black chalk, or chalk. He draws constantly, often on his knee, standing or on horseback, and sometimes even under enemy fire. After a journey of 13 months during which he drew thousands of sketches, Vivant Denon returned to France with Bonaparte, and became the first artist to publish the story of this expedition. The 141 boards that accompany his diary trace its entire journey from the coasts of Corsica to the pharaonic monuments of Upper Egypt. Bonaparte then appointed Director General of the Central Museum of the Republic, which becomes the Napoleon Museum and the Royal Louvre and arts administrator. In 1805, Vivant Denon stimulus project Vendôme column, which had been suspended in 1803. Then organizes expeditions across Europe to raise imperial art objects, which are to be carried looted the Louvre. In 1814, Louis XVIII confirmed as head of the Louvre, one wing of which still bears his name today. It is considered a great precursor of museology, art history and Egyptology. --- Please note that the translation in english is done automatically, we apologize if the formulas are inaccurate. Contact us for any information!<br></br>" Didot Paris _1803 "40,5x54cm" une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR120.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & BALTARD (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29656

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : Ruines du temple d'Hermopolis / Tombeau égyptien à Lycopolis / Plan du tombeau. (Planche 33).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40,5x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio non rognée, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de 4 vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur : N° 1. Ruines du temple d'Hermopolis ou la grande cité de Mercure, capitale du trente-cinquieme nome, bâtie par Ishmun, fils de Misraïm, à quelque distance du Nil, tout près d'un gros bourg appelé Ashmunein, et peu éloigné de Mélaui. Pour donner une idée des proportions colossales de cet édifice, il suffit de dire que le diametre des colonnes est de 8 pieds 10 pouces, leur espacement égal ; celui des deux colonnes du milieu, dans lequel la porte étoit comprise, est de 12 ; ce qui donne 120 pieds de face au portique : il en a 60 de hauteur. L'architrave est composée de cinq pierres de 22 pieds de long, la frise d'autant ; la seule pierre qui reste de la corniche a 34 pieds ; ces détails peuvent faire juger à la fois de la faculté que les Égyptiens avoient d'élever des masses énormes, et de la magnificence des matériaux qu'ils employoient. Ces pierres sont d'un grès qui a la finesse du marbre ; elles ne sont liées que par la perfection de leurs assises : à l'égard du plan du temple, aucun arrachement ne peut rendre compte de son enceinte et de sa nef ; le second rang de colonnes étoit engagé jusqu'à la hauteur de la porte, le reste étoit à jour : il est à croire que ce qui suivoit immédiatement n'étoit pas encore la nef ou le sacre du temple, mais une enceinte ou espece de cour qui le précédoit. Ce qui autorise à adopter cette opinion, c'est que la frise et la corniche avoient de ce côté la même décoration, et la même saillie que du côté de la façade de l'entrée. Le moment de la journée, et cette particularité, me firent choisir ce côté pour faire le dessin que je donne ici, où l'on peut remarquer l'arrachement de l'engagement des colonnes, et celui de la porte ; les fûts de colonnes semblent représenter des faisceaux, et le bas le pied de la plante du lotus au départ de la racine. Le chapiteau n'a rien d'analogue à aucun autre chapiteau connu, mais équivaut pour la gravité dans l'architecture égyptienne, au chapiteau dorique dans l'architecture grecque, et l'on peut dire que celui-ci est plus riche que l'autre. Tous les autres membres ont leur équivalent dans tous les autres ordres : sur l'astragale de l'un et l'autre côté du portique, et sous le plafond entre les deux colonnes du milieu, sont des globes ailés, emblèmes répétés à la même place dans tous les temples égyptiens.Les hiéroglyphes qui sont sur les dalles qui couronnent les chapiteaux sont tous les mêmes, et tous les plafonds sont décorés d'un méandre formé d'étoiles peintes couleur aurore sur un fond bleu. Le plan du portique est placé au-dessous de la vue. N° 3. Tombeau de Lycopolis. C'est un des plus considérables et le mieux conservé de ceux qui sont creusés dans la montagne auprès de Siuth ; le plan qui est au-dessous en fait connoître l'intérieur et la distribution : l'espece de péristyle qui lui sert d'entrée est, de même que le reste, taillé et creusé sans maçonnerie à même dans le rocher ; on a réparé les parties manquantes par un revétissement de stuc encore très bien conservé. D'abord il n'a pour ornement qu'un tore qui borde un cintre surbaissé; mais, à partir de là et jusqu'au fond de la derniere chambre, tout est couvert d'hiéroglyphes, et les plafonds d'ornements sculptés et peints : sur le parement des portes il y a de grandes figures qui sont répétées sur l'épaisseur du chambranle. Je n'y ai vu aucune trace de gonds ni autre fermeture : la partie supérieure de la porte est plus large que le bas ; ce n'est qu'à la troisieme qu'on arrive à la chambre du fond, où étoit sans doute le principal sarcophage; le sol a été fouillé presque partout. Rousseurs, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 "40,5x54cm" une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR180.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & BALTARD (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29663

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : Temple Monolythe. Vue d'un temple de Thèbes à Kournou. (Planche 41).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40,5x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio non rognée, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de 6 vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur : N° 1. Temple monolithe ou d'une seule pierre, où étoient logés les oiseaux sacrés : j'ai dessiné celui-ci dans le grand temple de l'isle de Philée ; il y en a deux de même grandeur, ils sont placés au fond de deux sanctuaires. N° 2. Plan du même petit temple. N° 3. Porte latérale du palais attenant au temple de Thebes, situé à Medinet-Abou ( voyez le temple, planche XLV, n° 2). N° 4. Soubassement très particulier des balcons du même palais, où l'on trouve la premiere idée des cariatides. N° 5. Fenêtre du même palais. N° 6. Vue d'un temple de Thebes à Kournou ; il est encombré de mauvaises fabriques modernes, qui se composent très pittoresquement avec la sévérité du style antique du monument et son état de délabrement ; sa forme, différente des autres temples, en auroit rendu le plan intéressant ; mais, outre la difficulté qu'opposoit la ruine de l'édifice, les circonstances ne m'ont jamais permis de l'entreprendre ; son enfouissement et la lourdeur de ses dimensions ajoutent encore à l'aspect colossal de sa grandeur effective. Très discrètes rousseurs principalement marginales, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 "40,5x54cm" une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR200.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & BALTARD (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29668

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : Vue et plan de temples à Thèbes près Médynet-âboù. (Planche 46).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de 5 vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur : N° 1. Vue générale des temples et palais situés près le village de Médinet-Abou à Thebes ; les plans qui sont au-dessous peuvent en donner l'intelligence ; la partie en avant est celle marquée figure premiere ; elle n'a jamais été terminée, et l'on y voit encore en bossage ce qui étoit destiné à être sculpté en bas-relief ; derriere, à gauche, marqué dans le plan fig. 3, est la ruine du petit palais, dont la vue est faite à part, planche XLV, n° 2 ; à droite est le temple, figure 2 ; le grand monument qui est sous la montagne est celui qui dans le plan est marqué figure 4 , une partie du village de Médinet-Abou est bâtie sur le comble de la partie h de ce temple. Au-dessous sont les plans des monuments de Médinet-Abou, dans leurs situations et à leurs distances respectives ; celui figure premiere n'a jamais été terminé ; la cour B devoit-elle être entourée de colonnes engagées comme on en voit à la partie D ? devoit-elle former un temple à la maniere de celui de Philée ? ou ces six colonnes devoient-elles former un portique devant les deux môles qui flanquoient la porte? c'est ce qu'il est difficile de résoudre ; les deux autres môles F, F, sont plus anciens et presque en ruine.Le temple, figure 2, est entouré d'une galerie de pilastres ; ses chambres sont très obscures, et son sanctuaire absolument privé de lumiere.Le plan, figure 3, est celui dont la vue est donnée planche XLV, n° 2.Figure 4. Plan d'un grand édifice, dont il est bien difficile d'assigner l'usage, et dont une grande partie h est enfouie, et couverte de maisons actuellement habitées ; les deux galeries de la cour T sont portées, l'une sur des colonnes, l'autre par des pilastres ; la cour Z est bordée de deux côtés par des pilastre devant lesquels sont des termes ; la galerie V est celle où est le grand bas-relief, planche CXXXIV ; la catholicité y avoit élevé dans cette cour une église, dont il n'y a plus que les colonnes qui soutenoient la nef. Les pieces 1, 2, et 3, sont absolument obscures ; la derniere a un soubassement creux ; tout l'extérieur du mur, marqué J, est couvert de bas-reliefs historiques, représentant des batailles entre des Égyptiens et des nations étrangeres, coiffées d'especes de mitres, comme les anciens Perses. Quelques rousseurs, légers accrocs marginaux, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 40x54cm une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR180.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & BALTARD (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29688

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : Vues et Plan d'un temple d'Hermontis. (Planche 51).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio non rognée, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de 3 vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur : Cette planche contient le plan et deux vues du temple d'Hermontis, à présent Ermente ; la premiere, n° 1, est une vue latérale, prise d'un bassin antique, qui reçoit l'eau du Nil au temps de l'inondation , et la retient encore malgré l'état de destruction où il est arrivé ; quatre escaliers descendent dans ce bassin ; c'étoit sans doute au milieu qu'étoit le nilometre dont parle Aristide le sophiste ; il ne reste rien de la colonne où on dit qu'étoient marqués les degrés de l'inondation ; au-dessus de ce bassin est un escalier à découvert et très bien conservé, dont les marches sont très basses, taillées dans un bloc de grès énorme ; cet escalier montoit à une plate-forme dont on voit encore de chaque côté quelque arrachement de revêtissement. Suivant toute apparence, cette plate-forme servoit de terrasse au temple qui est derriere ; le sanctuaire en est complètement conservé ; ce que l'on y avoit ajouté, et qui n'a jamais été fini, a éprouvé plus de destruction : ce qui est à gauche, près de la colonne isolée, est un tombeau moderne. N° 2. Le plan de tout ce qui compose la vue n° 1: ce qui n'est marqué que d'une taille est détruit jusqu'à rase du sol ; la partie du portique n'a jamais été ragréée ; la sculpture des chapiteaux n'a pas été terminée , et l'on ne voit que le massif dans lequel devoit être pris le relief des hiéroglyphes qui devoient couvrir les panneaux de tout l'édifice : le sanctuaire, plus anciennement construit, a été complètement achevé: il étoit divisé en trois parties ; la premiere ouvre par une porte latérale sur un escalier qui conduit au comble ; la seconde piece, 4, ne reçoit de jour que par la porte ; le sanctuaire, 5, en étoit absolument privé, et n'en reçoit maintenant que par une petite dégradation qui s'est faite près du plafond, auparavant il ne recevoit d'air que par une petite porte latérale fort basse; cette piece obscure est cependant tout aussi décorée que tout le reste, comme on peut le voir par le dessin que j'y ai fait avec beaucoup de peine, n° 5, planche CXXVI ; le n° 7 du plan est l'arrachement d'un mur, qui doit être ce qui reste de celui de la circonvallation ; il n'y a pas à douter que dans les premiers temps on n'avoit bâti que des sanctuaires, et que dans des temps postérieurs on y avoit ajouté des portiques ouverts, des circonvallations, des galeries, soit pour rendre les cérémonies plus augustes, soit pour y loger les prêtres, ou peut-être les rois. N° 3. Vue du même temple, prise d'A en B sur le plan; tout ce que l'on voit de droite et de gauche sont des tombeaux et des enclos modernes. Quelques légères taches marginales, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 40x54cm une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR200.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & BALTARD (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29660

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : Vues et Temples de Tentyris. (Planche 38).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40,5x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio non rognée, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon.Planche composée de 5 vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur : N° 1. Vue générale de Tintyra, qui fait connoître l'ensemble de ses monuments, leurs positions respectives, tels qu'on les voit en y arrivant du côté de l'est, l'éminence formée par les décombres de la ville, et derriere, la chaîne libyque. Le désert arrive jusqu'au sol qui termine la planche. Les palmiers que l'on voit sont les dernieres productions du dernier champ atteint par l'inondation. N° 2. Un petit monument carré-long, de quatre colonnes de face, sur cinq de profondeur, devant porter un entablement et une corniche ; les colonnes engagées jusqu'au tiers ( voyez le plan, pl. XL, n° 7 ). Cet édifice n'a jamais été fini ; les chapiteaux n'offrent que la masse dans laquelle ils devoient être travaillés ; isolé il se trouve situé tout vis-à-vis la porte du grand temple. N° 3. Un autre édifice en ruine, qui, dans la vue générale, se trouve à droite du grand temple : le sanctuaire est précédé de deux grandes pieces couvertes de bas-reliefs, les plafonds décorés d'une suite de globes ailés. Cette partie fermée est entourée d'une galerie ouverte et d'un péristyle, dont on n'apperçoit ici qu'un chapiteau très dégradé (voyez le plan n° 6, planche XL) ; l'extérieur en est très enfoui, ce qui fait qu'il est difficile de se rendre compte de la galerie, et qu'il m'a été impossible d'avoir connoissance de la colonne entiere. N° 4. Une vue de la partie sud du temple ; à droite, dans le lointain, le petit monument n° 2, qui est vis-à-vis la grande porte, contre laquelle s'appuyoit sans doute l'enceinte qui fermoit le temple : cette porte ouvre vis-à-vis le centre du portique ; elle est couverte d'hiéroglyphes en dedans et en dehors. Le portique est plus élevé que la celle ou nef ; une austere simplicité dans l'architecture est enrichie d'une innombrable quantité de sculptures hiéroglyphiques, qui n'en troublent cependant pas les belles lignes : une large corniche couronne majestueusement tout l'édifice ; un tors, qui semble le cercler, ajoute encore un aspect de solidité au talus qui existe partout, et sert d'empatement, ce qui ôte la maigreur des angles répétés, sans ôter la précision et la fermeté de l'ensemble, puisque cette fermeté se manifeste où elle doit se prononcer, c'est-à-dire à l'extrémité des corniches. Trois têtes de sphinxs sortent du flanc de la celle ou nef; à leur forme et au gouleau qui est entre leurs pattes on doit croire que c'étoient des gouttieres par lesquelles se seroient écoulées les eaux que l'on auroit versées sur la plate-forme du temple pour en rafraîchir les appartements qui y étoient construits, car sous les ruines des constructions arabes que l'on voit encore sur ce monument, j'ai trouvé de petits temples particuliers, décorés des sculptures les plus soignées et les plus scientifiques : c'est dans un de ces appartements que j'ai vu et dessiné le zodiaque, et autres détails intéressants, que j'expliquerai à l'article des hiéroglyphes. Les habitations modernes, dont on voit encore les ruines, auront sans doute été construites à cette élévation dans la pensée de se mettre à l'abri des incursions des Bédouins, et de se loger sur ces monuments comme dans une forteresse, ou bien pour s'éloigner du sol ardent, et aller chercher l'air dans une région plus élevée. Le reste de ce que présente cette estampe n'est plus que décombres, et arrachements de murailles des fabriques les dernieres construites avec les matériaux de la ville antique, qui, à l'exception des temples, étoit bâtie en briques. La quantité de monnoie romaine du temps de Constantin et de Théodose , que l'on trouve tous les jours en fouillant pour chercher du nitre, doit faire croire que Tintyra existoit encore à cette époque : j'y ai trouvé moi-même des lampes romaines en terre cuite, mêlées dans les décombres avec de petites divinités égyptiennes en pâte de verre et en porcelaine, avec une couverte bleue. N° 5. Le portique du temple tourné à l'est ; à gauche, un fragment de la porte ; à droite, le petit temple, n° 3 ; dans le fond, la chaîne libyque, à l'ouest de la ville. Rousseurs, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original engraving folio untrimmed, taken from travel in Lower and Upper Egypt Vivant Denon. Board consists of 5 views as described by the author. # 1 Overview of Tentyra, which made known all its monuments, their respective positions, as viewed on reaching the eastern side the eminence formed by the ruins of the city, behind the Libyan chain. The desert reaches the ground that ends the board. Palm trees that can be seen are the latest productions of the last field reached by the flood. # 2 A small monument square-long, four-column front, five deep, to wear an entablature and cornice.; engaged columns up to a third (see map, p. XL, No. 7). This building was never finished; capitals only offer mass in which they were to be worked; isolated it is located right vis-à-vis the door of the great temple. # 3 Another ruined edifice, which, in the general view, to the right of the great temple. Sanctuary is preceded by two major parts covered with bas-reliefs, ceilings decorated with a series of globes adults. The closed portion is surrounded by an open gallery and a peristyle, which we do perceive here a very big gradient (see Map No. 6, Plate XL); outside is very hidden, which makes it difficult to realize the gallery, and it was impossible to have cognizance of the entire column. # 4 A view of the southern part of the temple.; right, in the distance, the little monument No. 2, which is vis-à-vis the large door, against which fupported probably pregnant fermoit that the temple opens the door vis-à-vis the center the portico; it is covered with hieroglyphics inside and outside. The portico is higher than that or nave; an austere simplicity in architecture is enriched with countless hieroglyphic carvings, which however not disturb the beautiful lines: a wide cornice crown majestically throughout the building; a twisted, which seems strapping, adds an aspect of solidity to the slope that exists everywhere, and serves as wheelbase, which removes the thin repeated angles, without removing the precision and firmness of all, since this firm occurs where it must decide, that is to say at the end cornices. Three heads of sphinxes out of the side of the nave or; in form and at the neck which is between their legs are to be believed, that they were gutters through which water is passed seroient we would have paid on the platform of the temple to fine the apartments were built there, because under the ruins of Arab buildings that can still be seen on this monument, I found small private temples, decorated with the most elaborate carvings and more scientific: it is in one of the apartments I've seen and designed the zodiac, and other interesting details, which I will explain in section hieroglyphics. Modern houses, which are still visible ruins, have undoubtedly been built at that elevation of thought to shelter from the incursions of Bedouins, and housing on these monuments as in a fortress, or to s 'away from the burning ground and get air into a higher region. The rest of what has this print is only rubble and cutaway walls of factories built with the latest materials of the ancient city, which, with the exception of temples, was built of brick. The amount as money Roman time of Constantine and Theospineius, found every day rummaging in search of nitre, must believe that Tentyra still existed at that time: I found myself Roman lamps clay, mixed in the rubble with small Egyptian deities in molten glass and porcelain, covered with a blue. # 5 is the portico of the temple turned to.; left, a fragment of the holder; right, the small temple, No. 3; in the background, the Libyan mountains, west of the city. Foxing, otherwise good condition. Published for the first time in two volumes, an atlas of engravings by Didot in 1802, the 'Travel in Upper and Lower Egypt was so successful that it was translated in 1803 into English and German, and a few years later in Dutch and Italian, among others. Almost all boards are designed by Denon, who also etched himself a few, including portraits of the inhabitants of Egypt, who still kept the freshness of sketches taken on the spot (Nos. 104-111 ). Two dozen writers have also collaborated on the creation of which Baltard, Galen, Reville and other etchings. Dominique Vivant, Baron Denon, Vivant Denon said, Givry born January 4, 1747 and died in Paris April 27, 1825, is a writer, writer, diplomat and French administrator. At the invitation of Bonaparte, he joined the expedition to Egypt in shipping from 14 May 1798 on the frigate ""La Juno."" Protected by French troops, he had the opportunity to travel the country in all directions, to gather the material that was the basis for his artistic work and the most important literary. It supports in particular the General Desaix in Upper Egypt, which he refers to numerous sketches, ink wash and other drawings in pen, black chalk, or chalk. He draws constantly, often on his knee, standing or on horseback, and sometimes even under enemy fire. After a journey of 13 months during which he drew thousands of sketches, Vivant Denon returned to France with Bonaparte, and became the first artist to publish the story of this expedition. The 141 boards that accompany his diary trace its entire journey from the coasts of Corsica to the pharaonic monuments of Upper Egypt. Bonaparte then appointed Director General of the Central Museum of the Republic, which becomes the Napoleon Museum and the Royal Louvre and arts administrator. In 1805, Vivant Denon stimulus project Vendôme column, which had been suspended in 1803. Then organizes expeditions across Europe to raise imperial art objects, which are to be carried looted the Louvre. In 1814, Louis XVIII confirmed as head of the Louvre, one wing of which still bears his name today. It is considered a great precursor of museology, art history and Egyptology. --- Please note that the translation in english is done automatically, we apologize if the formulas are inaccurate. Contact us for any information!<br></br>" Didot Paris _1803 "40,5x54cm" une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR180.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & BERTHAULT (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29648

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : 1. Pyramide d'Ellahoun. 2. Vue de la Pyramide de Méïdoum. 3. Pyramide de Méïdoum. 4. Pyramide de Ssakarah. (Planche 26).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40,5x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de 4 vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur : N° 1. Vue de la pyramide d'Ellahoun, à l'entrée de la province du Fayoum, à l'extrémité du Bark Jusef; c'étoit peut-être la pyramide de Mendes, si le lac Bathen étoit le Mris : cette suite de rochers taillés à pic, que l'on voit dans le dernier plan, recevoit peut-être les efforts du Nil, si autrefois, par le fleuve sans eau, il alloit se jeter à la mer par le Maréotis. Cette pyramide est bâtie en briques non cuites; une construction en pierres calcaires lui servoit de noyau. N° 2. La pyramide de Méidoum, prise du Nil, entre les villages de Rega à droite, et Cafr-êl-Rych à gauche. N° 3. Autre vue de la même pyramide, à une demi-lieue de distance. Voyez le journal, tom. 1, pag. 224. N° 4. Les pyramides de Ssakarah, comme en les voit du Nil. Légères rousseurs, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 "40,5x54cm" une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR230.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & BERTHAULT (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29664

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : 2. Un des tombeaux des rois à Thèbes. 4. Nécropolis de Thèbes. 5. Le Memnonium à Thèbes. (Planche 42).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40,5x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio non rognée, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de 5 vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur : N° 1. Plan d'un des tombeaux des rois à Thebes, le premier que l'on rencontre à droite, dans la vallée des morts, à l'ouest de cette ville. A, l'entrée, dont on voit la vue, même planche, n° 2 , creusée dans le rocher ; les parois en sont revêtues en stucs décorés de peintures ; le plafond est une voûte dont la ligne est surbaissée ; les trois repos, dans cette premiere galerie, peuvent avoir appuyé des portes ; les especes de tribunes, marquées B, doivent avoir servi à déposer, ou des corps, ou des figures, ou des offrandes, d'autant qu'il y a une espece de soubassement à hauteur d'appui ; les lettres CC sont des especes de niches au même usage; DD, d'autres niches plus grandes pour y placer peut-être de la musique dans les cérémonies, car j'en ai trouvé de peinte dans des pompes funebres; E, la chambre sépulcrale avec le sarcophage de granit de 8 pieds de longueur, sur 6 de hauteur, et 5 de largeur ; sur le couvercle une figure en haut relief, couchée à plat, coiffée et vêtue en habit sacerdotal, qui, selon toute apparence, étoit le costume de cérémonie des initiés ; le sarcophage est ouvert, et le couvercle rompu ; la piece F paroît avoir eu une porte particuliere, et avoir été un sanctuaire ; celle marquée G, qui semble aussi avoir été fermée, est terminée par une espece d'autel qui tient tout le fond de la piece, et paroît avoir été destiné à poser des offrandes ou des figures sacrées ; trois lectisternes sont peints sur la paroi contre laquelle est appuyé cet autel. N° 2. Ouverture du rocher qui sert d'entrée au tombeau, dont le plan vient d'être décrit ; cette entrée paroit prise au hasard, et laissée à toute sa rusticité: étoit-ce dans le dessein d'y apposer des rochers et de perdre ainsi la trace de l'existence de ces monuments pour les consacrer par l'oubli à un éternel repos? mais alors pourquoi cette pompe intérieure ? pourquoi cette vallée consacrée à cet usage ? Avec la vue d'une de ces ouvertures on a l'image de toutes les autres ; car il y a peu de différence entre elles, ou ces différences ne sont d'aucune importance; les portes se ressemblent toutes, elles sont toutes décorées du même bas-relief en forme d'attique ( voyez planche CXXII, n° 10). N° 3. Plan d'un autre tombeau à deux issues : le sarcophage, qui est brisé, étoit dans la pièce B, entre quatre piliers qui portent le plafond ; c'est à la lettre D que sont situées les petites chambres que j'ai décrites, planche CXXXV, dans lesquelles sont peints chacun à part les attibuts des sciences, des arts, et des métiers. N° 4. Nécropolis de Thebes, situé au nord-ouest de cette ville, sur un plateau de la partie basse de la chaîne libyque : cette partie déserte et aride étoit par sa nature dévolue au silence de la mort. En taillant le rocher sur un plan incliné, trois côtes ont offert tout naturellement des escarpements, dans lesquels on a creusé des doubles galeries, et derriere, des chambres sépulcrales ; ces excavations sont innombrables, et occupent un espace de plus d'une demi-lieue carrée ; ils servent à présent de logement aux habitants du village de Kournou, et à leurs nombreux troupeaux. Il seroit très intéressant d'observer les détails de ces tombeaux : mais la premiere fois que je les vis, j'y entrai avec Desaix, et nous pensâmes y être tués à coups de piques par les habitants qui s'y étoient cachés ; la seconde fois on nous y tira des coups de fusils ; la derniere fois nous y étions allés pour faire la guerre aux habitants, et, la paix faite, on ne voulut pas les tourmenter par une visite domiciliaire. N° 5. Vue de ce que l'on est convenu d'appeler le Memnonium sur la rive gauche du Nil ( voyez le plan, planche XCIII, n° 5 ). A gauche de la vue est la ruine d'une grande porte, couverte de bas-reliefs barbarement composés, représentant une bataille ; entre cette grande porte et une autre est un colosse renversé, dont les fragments de la ruine ressemblent au chantier d'une carriere ; la totalité de ce monument se dirige d'orient en occident, et arrivoit presque jusqu'à la base de la chaîne libyque : les arbres que l'on voit sont des palmiers doum ; et au-dessous des arbres est le pied de la statue, que l'on auroit pu apporter en Europe, et qui auroit pu donner une idée de la proportion colossale de ces especes de monuments égyptiens. Légères rousseurs, 4 petites restaurations marginales à l'aide de morceaux de filmoplast, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres.Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 "40,5x54cm" une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR230.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & BERTHAULT (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29641

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : Vues des Pyramides de Djyzéh. (Planche 19).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40,5x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio non rognée, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de 5 vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur : N° 1 , 2, 3, et 4. Vues des pyramides, d'aussi loin qu'on puisse les appercevoir en remontant le Nil. N° 5. Vue de la ville du Caire, Boulac, Forstath, qui ne forment qu'un seul ensemble à l'instant que l'on vient à les découvrir en remontant le Nil ; la montagne que l'on apperçoit derriere est le Mokattam, contre lequel est appuyée cette ville. Légères et discrètes rousseurs, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 "40,5x54cm" une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR230.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & BERTON ‎

Reference : 29788

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : Planche 124. (Figures de divinités et autres bas-reliefs).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio non rognée, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche ornée d'une gravure subdivisée en 9 figures, ainsi décrites par l'auteur : N° 1. Figure que je crois celle d'Orus ou de la terre, fils d'Isis ou d'Osiris ; je l'ai vue le plus souvent avec l'une et l'autre de ces divinités, ou leur faisant une offrande, toujours avec une figure jeune et d'une taille plus petite que les autres : j'ai trouvé celle-ci sur une des colonnes du portique de Tintyra ; elle étoit recouverte en stuc, et peinte : le stuc, en partie écaillé, me laissa voir des lignes tracées comme avec de la sanguine ; la curiosité me fit achever d'enlever le stuc, et je trouvai le trait de la figure tracé avec des repentirs de dessin, une division en vingt-deux parties, le départ des cuisses partageant la grandeur totale de la figure, et la tête en formant un peu moins de la septieme partie ; les Egyptiens avoient donc un type, un mode, un canon? ils avoient donc un art avec des principes fixes ? Ce qui me parut singulier, ce fut de trouver, tout auprès de cette figure si réguliere, des traits tracés deux ou trois mille ans après et par les mêmes catholiques des premiers siecles, qui détruisoient si soigneusement les sculptures du culte égyptien, et qui, avec toute la gaucherie de la barbarie la plus inepte, s'étoient efforcés de dessiner la figure d'un de leurs évéques avec la mitre et la croix : sans partialité pour l'histoire de l'art, j'ai tout pris avec la même exactitude , et j'en ai conservé la comparaison telle qu'elle m'a frappé. N° 2. J'ai trouvé ce groupe très souvent répété dans les peintures qui décorent les tombeaux des rois de Thebes ; la figure attachée au poteau, terminée par une tête de loup ou de chakal, et qui a la tête coupée, est toujours noire avec le caractere negre, et celui qui tient le coutelas est toujours rouge. Il y avoit donc des sacrifices humains ? le poteau sacré indiqueroit que c'est une fonction religieuse, et non un suplice ; que c'étoit une victime, et non un coupable ; que c'étoit un captif et non un criminel ; que le rouge étoit la couleur nationale, et le noir la couleur étrangere. On trouve chez tous les peuples des divinités qui veulent du sang, parceque les hommes qui se sont fait des divinités les ont créées à leur image, et leur ont donné toutes leurs passions et tous leurs vices. N° 3. Cette figure, qui réunit de grandes curiosités, m'a été communiquée par le général Dugua ; elle a été dessinée d'après un fragment de granit près de Souès, et si naïvement, que je ne puis soupconner la main qui en a fait le dessin d'être capable de la malice d'un faux. L'écriture persépolitaine, jointe au caractere bien prononcé de la tête d'un mage, telle qu'on la voit sur les médailles antiques de Perse, et le signe égyptien du globe ailé, ce rapprochement d'époques, ce mélange des arts de deux nations rivales, que je n'ai jamais rencontré qu'ici m'a fait penser que, malgré la loi que je me suis faite de ne présenter à mes lecteurs que ce que j'aurois vu ou dessiné moi-même, je ne pouvois me dispenser d'offrir ce fragment à la curiosité des observateurs. N° 4. C'est une espece de chapelle ou d'ex-voto, ou temple votif et portatif, d'une seule pierre de grès : celui-ci a été trouvé à Saccarah ; il est du double de la grandeur du dessin ; il a été apporté en France par le citoyen Descotil, qui a bien voulu me le communiquer. Les n° 5 et 6 sont les côtés ; il falloit sans doute qu'il fût appuyé contre quelque chose, car il n'y a rien de sculpté derriere : la figure du milieu est la tête d'une divinité sur un corps de serpent ; aux deux côtés sont un homme et une femme faisant des offrandes. N° 7. Ce tableau d'un genre particulier m'a paru être un jeu, et la représentation de tours de force que l'on fait faire à des ânes, dont je n'ai trouvé la figure dans aucun tableau hiéroglyphique ; ceux-ci sont sculptés dans une grotte à mi-côte de la montagne libyque, à l'ouest de Thebes. Ce tableau, travaillé sur le massif de la roche, sur la pierre calcaire, est si fin et si recherché pour le travail, qu'il ressemble plutôt à de la ciselure d'orfèvrerie qu'à de la sculpture ; ce sujet d'un genre tout-à-fait particulier a plus de souplesse dans les contours et plus de grace dans la pose qu'on n'en trouve ordinairement dans les bas-reliefs égyptiens. Ils avoient donc une école, et un style à part exempt des inconséquences des figures hiéroglyphiques. L'usage existe encore dans le pays de lever dans la même attitude les ânes qui viennent de faire une course, afin de les délasser et de leur déroidir les membres. N° 8. Ce tableau est de même nature que le précédent, il existe dans la même grotte ; il est encore plus évidemment un jeu : la figure du milieu va sauter sur la corde ; elle a toute la naïveté de ce mouvement ; les autres ne sont pas moins bien dans l'action, et prouvent que, lorsqu'ils en avoient une à exprimer, ils savoient prendre la nature sur le fait et en rendre l'expression. La roche sur laquelle tout cela est sculpté est friable, et s'est effeuillée d'elle-même, ce qui a fragmenté tout naturellement cette petite collection particuliere et très précieuse : j'en aurois dessiné tout ce qui en reste de détails, si je ne l'eusse découvert le soir et à l'instant où j'étois obligé de quitter ce lieu pour toujours. N° 9. J'ai joint le développement de ce petit cippe persépolitain pour servir de comparaison avec l'écriture à clou du n° 3. Quelques rousseurs principalement marginales, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 40x54cm une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR120.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & CHOFFARD (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29750

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : Momies d'Ibis. (Planche 99).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40,5x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio non rognée, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de dessins ainsi décrits par l'auteur:Momie d'ibis. Les pots dans lesquels ces oiseaux sont fermés, et qui leur servent de sarcophages, sont de terre rouge et commune, de 14 à 18 pouces de hauteur (voyez la forme de ce pot, lettre A) ; on les trouve en grand nombre à Saccara, dans des chambres souterraines ; ces chambres sont si saines, que ces pots semblent encore neufs en en sortant, et qu'on douteroit de leur antiquité si la méthode de l'embaumement n'étoit perdue, et si l'oiseau dont on trouve le squelette n'eût disparu du sol de l'Egvpte : on dit que de temps à autre on en voit encore quelques individus dans le lac de Menzaleh, entre Damiette et Peluse ; cependant, malgré mes questions obstinées à tous les chasseurs du pays et à tous ceux qui s'occupent d'histoire naturelle, je n'ai trouvé personne qui m'ait assuré en avoir vu.Je fis avec le cit. Jeoffroy l'ouverture de deux de ces pots et des momies qu'ils contenoient : un léger effort fit céder la soudure du couvercle, qui n'est qu'une espece de chaux ; nous trouvâmes l'emmaillottement de l'oiseau ballottant dans le diametre du pot, ce qui est cause sans doute que presque toutes les momies de cette espece, envoyées en Europe, y arrivent réduites en poussiere par les secousses de la route. Leur premier aspect est celui de la momie d'un enfant qui vient de naître (voyez les figures B, C, D, E) ; une toile assez fine, bistrée, et qui semble avoir été imbibée d'un fluide aromatique, après avoir été croisée à la partie inférieure, en couvre tout un côté (voyez lettre B) ; sous cette enveloppe un fil double serre horizontalement et transversalement la momie dans toutes les parties (voyez figure C) ; sous ce fil la seconde enveloppe est comme la premiere, formée du même lange, ensuite on trouve de petites bandelettes d'un pouce et demi de diametre, qui, comme le fil, serrent l'oiseau dans tous les sens (voyez F, G, H) , qui sont les deux côtés de la momie dans cet état ; ces bandelettes enlevées, on trouve encore un troisieme lange, sous lequel sont de petits tampons de toile adaptés à la partie inférieure, et placés là pour soutenir la forme de la momie, et lui donner plus de consistance ; tout cela ôté, la momie prend la figure d'une nymphe de chenille prête à devenir un papillon (voyez figure I) ; cette derniere enveloppe, beaucoup plus grossiere que la premiere, trempée dans un baume plus compact, en a reçu une couleur plus brune et d'une consistance plus forte ; on commence alors à découvrir quelque forme de l'oiseau : nous ouvrîmes cette enveloppe ; mais, comme si la matiere eût été employée trop chaude, ou qu'elle eût eu quelque qualité corrosive, elle avoit carbonisé tout ce qu'elle avoit pénétré , et les os tomboient en poussiere à mesure que nous les découvrions ou que nous voulions les détacher de l'adhérence qu'ils avoient à la toile ou à la matiere embaumante. Le désir de rendre notre opération complete nous fit ouvrir mon second pot ; nous y trouvâmes une momie plus grande, plus compacte et plus pesante : la seule différence que nous trouvâmes dans les enveloppes de cette seconde fut qu'au lieu d'un lange pour derniere couverte, c'étoient des bandes de deux couleurs, alternativement posées et recouvertes par des fils enveloppant symétriquement le petit maillot (voyez figure C). J'ai trouvé encore deux autres différences depuis (voyez figures D et E) : dans celle figure B il y avoit une espece de petite cocarde, qui nous parut d'abord un jeu de l'embaumeur ; c'étoit un petit morceau de bandelette plié et attaché au maillot par le gluten de la matiere: j'ai été dans le cas de voir depuis que c'étoient, ainsi que les figures n° 12 et 13, de petits fragments de plumes, retrouvés peut-être après l'opération faite, et scrupuleusement enveloppés , et adaptés à la masse principale, pour que rien ne fût séparé. Ce soin scrupuleux peut faire voir combien les Égyptiens attachoient d'idées religieuses à ces embaumements, et m'a expliqué dans la suite ce que c'étoit que de petites momies que j'ai trouvées depuis en dépouillant des embaumements d'humains ; on en peut voir une figure de grandeur naturelle, et l'explication, n° 5 et 7, planche C. Toutes les autres enveloppes de notre seconde momie étoient les mêmes que celles de la premiere ; la derniere n'étoit point adhérente, et nous trouvâmes dessous le plus beau petit squelette possible (voyez lettre J), pas une fracture des os même les plus délicats (voyez les os gravés de grandeur naturelle dans la partie supérieure de la même planche) ; les pennes et les barbes étoient conservées ; on pouvoit juger, malgré la teinte altérée par l'impression de la liqueur balsamique , que la partie supérieure en avoit été blanche, et les extrémités roux-brun ; la queue courte avec des pennes de peu de consistance.Par cette double opération nous fûmes dans le cas de nous rendre compte du procédé employé dans cette espece d'embaumement : le voici en sens inverse de ce que je viens de le présenter, et tel qu'il devoit s'effectuer. Celui qui opéroit ôtoit toutes les parties intérieures de l'oiseau, les faisoit bouillir dans le baume, et les replacoit; ensuite il prenoit l'oiseau, en plioit les ailes contre le corps , ce qui donnoit la grandeur totale de la momie ; il replioit les jambes en les relevant des deux côtés du sternum, lui rabattoit la tête entre les deux cuisses, de maniere à ce que l'extrémité du bec arrivât à l'extrémité de la queue, et, tenant d'une main par la partie inférieure l'oiseau ainsi troussé, il adaptoit le premier linceul très imbibé de matiere balsamique et glutineuse, et achevoit de l'envelopper par la partie inférieure, en y ajoutant deux petits tampons, pour donner plus de consistance à cette partie, où il ne se trouvoit que la queue, les pennes des ailes, et le bec ; ensuite venoit le grand linceul, de cinq pouces de large et trois pieds de long, d'une toile plus fine, et trempée dans une liqueur plus fluide ; il l'appliquoit d'abord du haut en bas ; il tournoit sans ordre du fil autour pour le fixer ; ensuite il le tordoit au-dessous, puis adaptoit sur le linceul les bandelettes de deux à trois pouces de large, dont les extrémités étaient toujours fixées par le gluten de la matiere noire et épaisse ; ensuite reprenant le linceul, il recouvroit les bandelettes, et les fils, comme je l'ai déja énoncé. Discrètes rousseurs marginales, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 "40,5x54cm" une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR180.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & COINY (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29689

(1803)

‎"Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : 1. Temple voisin d'Esné ou Latopolis. 2. Djébéléïn, ou les deux montagnes. (Planche 52).<br />"‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 39,5x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de 2 vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur : N° 1. Vue d'un temple isolé, à un mille au nord-ouest d'Esné ( voyez son plan, pl. XCVII, lettre C, et la description dans le journal, tome II, pag. 261). Cette partie du portique est la plus conservée ; quelques affaissements ont cependant apporté des changements au niveau des colonnes, et dérangé les plates-bandes qui formoient le plafond : les pierres que l'on voit en avant sont les décombres d'une cour qui étoit devant ce portique, et qui est entièrement détruite, ainsi que le sanctuaire qui étoit derriere ; les bas-reliefs, sculptés au plafond du portique, sont des tableaux astronomiques, dont le travail est fort négligé. N° 2. Djebelein ou les deux montagnes sur le revers du second rocher ; il y a un santon très révéré , et faisant journellement des miracles ; à droite, la route tracée sur le désert, dont le sol, balayé par le vent, est très dur en cet endroit, et parsemé de cailloux roulés de fort belle matiere, et très variés de couleur ; à gauche, le Nil, dont la rive opposée est bordée d'une guirlande de production qui se détache très pittoresquement sur le fond jaune et aride des deux déserts, qui se rapprochent à ce point ; au fond, la chaîne arabique, ou le Mokattam ; sur le devant est notre division faisant halte lors du premier passage en cet endroit. Très légères rousseurs, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 "39,5x54cm" une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR230.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & COINY (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29743

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : 1. Fellah ou Paysan Egyptien. 2. Plan du temple de Quarnaq. 3. PLan du Monastère blanc. 5. Plan du Memnonium. (Planche 93).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio non rognée, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de 5 vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur : N° 1. Homme du peuple dans l'attitude qu'il prend aussitôt qu'il a à traiter de quelque chose qui exige plus de deux ou trois phrases. N° 2. Plan du temple de Karnak, le plus grand monument de l'Egypte. N'ayant jamais été dans le cas de pouvoir en mesurer les détails, j'en ai fait sur les lieux une image pour pouvoir m'en rendre compte, en garder le souvenir, et aider la description, qui paroît encore fantastique à ceux même qui se sont trouvés à portée de s'assurer de l'existence d'une aussi vaste conception : situé à trois à quatre cents toises des bords du Nil, sa principale entrée est dirigée de l'ouest à l'est ; deux grands colosses, dont il ne reste que les piédestaux, étoient placés en avant de la porte, flanquée de deux môles énormes ; ces derniers n'ont jamais été terminés : les Egyptiens commençoient par élever des masses, dans lesquelles ils dressoient leurs lignes architecturales ; ils travailloient ensuite leurs hiéroglyphes par le procédé que nous employons pour dégrossir, et terminer une statue colossale composée de plusieurs quartiers de pierre ou de marbre. Derriere ces deux môles est une vaste cour, qu'une avenue de colonnes, B, partage en deux parties ; il n'y a plus qu'une de ces colonnes debout : dans la cour à gauche une galerie couverte, C, avec de petits logements ou cellules ; à droite, D, un, édifice particulier, qui ressembleroit plus à un palais que toutes les autres parties de l'édifice, ayant une porte à part, une cour intérieure décorée d'une galerie, derriere laquelle sont une suite de chambres, et une galerie latérale conduisant au grand portique ; au bout de la galerie B, deux autres môles EE, moins grands que les premiers, précédés aussi de deux colosses en granit ; on en voit encore les torses renversés : ces seconds môles, qui ont été terminés, se sont écrasés sous leurs masses ; c'est derriere cette seconde entrée qu'est le portique le plus vaste, le monument le plus extraordinaire de la magnificence égyptienne : une avenue de vingt colonnes, F, de 11 pieds de diametre , deux quinconces, GG, de quarante colonnes chacun, de 7 pieds de diametre, portant architrave, plate-bande et plafond. On est plus que surpris de si énormes magnificences, on est humilié de la comparaison de nos édifices avec ceux-ci : tout ce portique est encore debout ; le terrain a cédé dans quelques parties, et a fait gauchir l'à-plomb de quelques colonnes, ce qui a ouvert le plafond dans plusieurs endroits ; le comble de ces espaces couvert devoit servir de terrasse et de promenoir lorsque le soleil n'étoit plus sur l'horizon. L'avenue, de colonnes plus grandes, avoit aussi sa plate-forme ; le tambour produit par son élévation étoit latéralement décoré d'un attique en pilastre, surmonté de claires voies en pierre, qui donnoient de l'air et un jour mystérieux à cette forêt de colonnes ; cette avenue étoit terminée par une troisieme porte, qui est absolument en ruine ; de droite et de gauche sont des chambres fort embarrassées de décombres, et dont la distribution embrouillée exigeoit des recherches embarrassantes. Vis-à-vis, K, sont quatre obélisques de granit parfaitement travaillés ; deux grands d'abord, deux moins grands après, et tous quatre moins couverts d'hiéroglyphes que ceux de Luxor : il y en a encore trois debout ; le quatrieme, renversé, a été morcelé pour faire des meules. Ces monuments si simples, si pures, si précieux dans leur exécution, la plus parfaite et la plus élégante production de l'architecture égyptienne, celle dont l'exécution prononce tout à la fois et sur la solidité de leur goût et sur la hardiesse de leur entreprise, celle que tous les arts perfectionnés pouvoient seuls exécuter, transporter et dresser, étoient ici prodigués pour décorer l'entrée du petit sanctuaire, pour lequel il semble que tout le reste de cet immense édifice ait été bâti ; ce qui produit un contraste qui est peut-être encore une magie de l'art, celle de frapper l'ame de respect pour la sainteté du tabernacle qui occupe le centre de tous ces édifices : ce saint des saints est construit entièrement en granit, couvert de petits hiéroglyphes représentant toujours des offrandes au même dieu, qui est celui de l'abondance et de la régénération (voyez planche CXXVII, n° 10), divinité dont on trouve l'image répétée dans toutes les parties du temple avec les mêmes attributs toujours aussi prononcés. Le plafond est peint en bleu semé d'étoiles jaunes ; la porte de ce sanctuaire, I, est précédée d'une autre porte dont les chambranles sont formés de trois tiges de lotus terminées par leurs fleurs, ce que l'on a pris pour des colonnes accouplées avec leurs chapiteaux. De chaque côté du sanctuaire il y a de petits appartements, LL, et derriere sont d'autres pieces, MM, devant lesquelles sont des portiques en colonnes, NN, qui donnent sur une immense cour, O, bordée de galeries, PP, et terminée par une autre qui est ouverte, Q, portée par des colonnes et des pilastres avec chapiteaux et sans chapiteaux (voy. pl. LX, n° 12, et pl. LXXI, n° 11) : la corniche, très saillante de cette galerie, forme une espece d'auvent : une autre qui lui est parallele laisse un espace ouvert entre celle Q et une suite de cellules R : autour de tout cela est un mur de circonvallation, couvert d'hiéroglyphes en-dedans et en-dehors : par-delà et en droite ligne est la porte de l'est, S, encore très conservée ; toutes les lignes architecturales en sont arrêtées; mais les ornements et les hiéroglyphes n'y sont sculptés qu'à sa partie supérieure , ce qui fait voir la marche de ces travaux ; la porte du nord, U, étoit sans doute précédée de sphinxs, dont on ne voit plus que les substructions des socles qui les portoient ; le chemin qui y amenoit étoit pavé en larges pierres ; à la partie intérieure il y avoit des colonnes qui formoient ou une galerie couverte ou un portique : au sud-est du grand temple on trouve des ruines éparses, des cippes, des statues brisées ou renversées, des arrachements de murs annonçant des constructions de plus petites proportions : étoit-ce la partie des habitations des rois, des grands, des prêtres ? En revenant à l'ouest, on trouve de grands môles éboulés, entre lesquels sont des portes ruinées ; en-dedans et en-dehors il y a encore des torses de figures colossales en marbre blanc et en grès rouge ; des galeries détruites formoient une cour terminée par d'autres môles décorés de même ; la porte qui unissoit ceux-ci est tombée ; les chambranles qui sont restés en place sont en granit couvert d'hiéroglyphes d'une exécution extraordinaire pour la franchise de la taille et le fini précieux des figures. Les Egyptiens avoient sans doute quelque trempe particuliere pour les outils avec lesquels ils travailloient le granit. Une autre cour, Z, amenoit à un sanctuaire ; cette partie est tellement détruite que le plan en est effacé : l'extérieur de ce monument étoit précédé d'une de ces célebres allées de sphinxs ; ceux-ci étoient à tête de taureau, ils arrivoient à un embranchement d'une autre allée, b, de sphinxs à tête humaine : cette seconde allée venoit couper la grande avenue, d, qui, depuis le temple de Luxor, à un mille de là, venoit aboutir à la porte du sud, d; ceux-ci étoient à tête de bélier, tenant entre les pattes de devant de petits sanctuaires où sont des figures d'Isis ; les corps tronqués de ces sphinxs, sur leurs piédestaux enfouis, mêlés à des palmiers, offrent encore un aspect auguste et imposant ; voyez la porte d, planche XLIII, n° 3 , qui est en ligne directe des deux môles ; l'espace qui est entre la porte et ces môles étoit encore garni de sphinxs ; il n'en reste que quelques uns : ces deux môles précedent un portique ouvert de vingt-huit colonnes, qui formoit une cour intérieure d'un style plus grave encore que tout ce que nous avons décrit, un péristyle et un sanctuaire plus mystérieux que tout ce que nous avons rencontré, une enceinte dans une enceinte ; tout à côté, L, un autre temple ; m m m, une enceinte générale, dont la ruine forme une petite chaîne de montagnes enfermant deux lacs XX, et d'autres ruines sans formes. On est fatigué de décrire, on est fatigué de lire, on est épouvanté de la pensée d'une telle conception ; on ne peut croire, même après l'avoir vu, à la réalité de l'existence de tant de constructions réunies sur un même point, à leur dimension, à la constance obstinée qu'a exigée leur fabrication, aux dépenses incalculables de tant de somptuosité.N° 3. Plan du monastere blanc (voyez le Journal, tome I, page 296).N° 5. Plan du Memnonium, qui étoit un temple ou un palais. Lettre A, un môle, dont un pareil détruit formoit la premiere entrée de l'édifice : B, la statue la plus colossale de l'Égypte (voy. sa ruine, pl. XLII, n° 5, et pl. XLV, n° 1) ; elle avoit 75 pieds de proportion ; on en voit encore le torse et les cuisses ; il y a sur le bras une inscription hiéroglyphique (voyez pl. CXVIII, n° 7): il est probable que c'était là la statue de Memnon, puisqu'elle se trouve devant l'édifice qu'Hérodote et Strabon ont indiqué comme étant le Memnonium, puisque l'on a mis une grande volonté à la renverser ; ce qui suppose un projet de découvrir un mystere célèbre, ou détruire un objet de culte, et parcequ'elle est seule au lieu des deux (planche XLIV), de l'une desquelles on s'est obstiné à faire la statue de Memnon. La lettre C est un second môle, qui, avec un autre aussi détruit, formoit une seconde entrée à une cour bordée d'une galerie de colonnes et de pilastres, devant lesquels étoient des figures de prêtres ou divinités : les deux points carrés marquent la place de deux statues en granit noir d'un travail recherché ; elles sont renversées et brisées : les détails apportés auroient pu donner une idée de la perfection de la sculpture égyptienne. La lettre E étoit sans doute un portique comme celui du temple de Karnak ; les parties F, G, sont dans un état de destruction à ne pouvoir donner aucune idée de ce que pouvoient être ces pieces.N° 4. Le musulman entouré de tout ce qu'il aime ; assis à l'ombre, avec sa pipe, son café, son chat, ses oiseaux, il est tourmenté, et jamais importuné par ses petits enfants qu'il idolâtre : heureux de jouissances si douces, il devroit être bon et vertueux ; et il le seroit sans l'orgueil et la paresse, qui enfantent en lui l'intérêt, qui gâtent toutes ses bonnes qualités. Quelques rousseurs principalement marginales, un infime manque angulaire, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 40x54cm une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR120.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & COINY (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29734

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : 1. Manière de faire les maccaroni. 2. Dyvân militaire. (Planche 85).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de deux vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur : N° 1. Maniere de faire le macaroni : la manufacture et tout à la fois la boutique sont dans la rue ; un four, sur lequel une grande plaque de cuivre est échauffée ; le marchand fait tomber une pâte fine et liquide, qui se tamise à travers les trous d'un vase qu'il promene sur la plaque ; au bout de quelques minutes, les filons de pâte sont durcis, desséchés, et cuits par une même chaleur entretenue sans relâche par une égale quantité de branches de palmier, dont on chauffe perpétuellement le four. On donne, dans le même espace de temps, le même degré de cuisson au macaroni, que l'on renouvelle continuellement sur la plaque, et qui se vend à mesure qu'il se fait. N° 2. Divan militaire ; les causes dans lesquelles les intérêts des Français entroient pour quelque chose, au lieu d'être jugées par la justice ordinaire, étoient portées au tribunal du commandant de la province ; et souvent même les habitants demandoient que leurs différents particuliers fussent jugés par le même tribunal : ce tableau-ci est un jugement de ce genre. Le général, près les drapeaux de la république, a derriere lui deux truchemans ou interpretes, frippons intéressés, trop ordinairement payés des deux côtés ; à gauche, sur des sieges élevés, sont les accusateurs ou demandeurs ; à terre, au milieu, l'appelé ou accusé, et son défenseur ; à droite , les témoins ; tout le reste est l'assemblée. Cette maniere expéditive et absolue de terminer les causes n'étoit jamais suivie d'aucun murmure, malgré l'inconvénient des truchemans, qui étoit bien sûrement le seul qui pût altérer l'intégrité des jugements. Très discrètes rousseurs principalement marginales, une légère trace de pliure angulaire, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 40x54cm une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR180.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & COINY (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29741

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : 1. Vue d'Ajaccio en Corse. 2. Vue de Fréjus. (Planche 91).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio non rognée, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de 2 vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur:N° 1. Vue d'Ajaccio, petite ville devenue célebre pour avoir été le berceau d'un grand homme ; j'y ai représenté notre arrivée (voyez le Journal, tome II, page 341). N° 2. Vue de Fréjus, du côté de la porte d'Aix ; j'y ai représenté le moment où les deux frégates qui rapportent Bonaparte en France entrent dans le port de cette ville ; événement qui appartient à l'histoire, et deviendra par elle un monument plus durable que l'amphithéâtre romain dont on voit la ruine sur le devant de l'estampe. Rousseurs, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original print folio untrimmed extracted Travellers in Lower and Upper Egypt Vivant Denon.Planche composed of two views as described by the author: No.1 view of Ajaccio, a town now famous for being the cradle of a great man; I represented our arrival (see Journal, Volume II, page 341) 2 · N ° view of Frejus, near the Porte d'Aix; I represented when the two frigates that relate Bonaparte in France entered the port of this city; event is history, and it will become by a monument more lasting than the Roman amphitheater which we see the ruins on the front of the estampe.Rousseurs, otherwise good conservation.Publié for the first time in two volumes including an atlas of engravings, Didot, in 1802, the 'Journey to the Lower and Upper Egypt proved so successful that it was translated in 1803 into English and German, and a few years later in Dutch and Italian, for example. Almost all boards are designed by Denon, who also engraved himself a few, including portraits of the inhabitants of Egypt, who still kept the freshness of sketches taken on the spot (our 104-111 ). Two dozen writers have also collaborated to create etchings which Baltard, Galen, Reville and autres.Dominique Vivant Denon Baron says Vivant Denon, born in Givry January 4, 1747 and died in Paris on April 27 1825 is a writer, author, diplomat and French administrator. At the invitation of Bonaparte, he joined the expedition to Egypt in shipping from May 14, 1798 on the frigate ""La Juno."" Protected by French troops, he had the opportunity to travel the country in all directions in order to gather the material that was the basis for his artistic work and the most important literary. It supports in particular General Desaix in Upper Egypt, which he refers to numerous sketches, ink wash and other drawings in pen, black chalk, or chalk. He draws constantly, usually on his knee, standing or on horseback, and sometimes even under enemy fire. After a journey of 13 months during which he draws thousands of drawings, Vivant Denon returned to France with Bonaparte, and became the first artist to publish the story of the expedition. The 141 boards that accompany his diary retrace its entire journey from the coast of Corsica to the pharaonic monuments of Upper Egypt. Bonaparte then appointed Director General of the Central Museum of the Republic, which became the Napoleon Museum and the Royal Louvre and arts administrator. In 1805, Vivant Denon revival project of the Vendome column, which had been suspended in 1803 then organizes expeditions across Europe to raise imperial works of art which are plundered to be carried away to the Louvre. In 1814, Louis XVIII confirmed as head of the Louvre, one wing of which still bears his name today. It is considered a great precursor of museology, art history and Egyptology. --- Please note that the translation in english is done automatically, we apologize if the formulas are inaccurate. Contact us for any information!<br></br>" Didot Paris _1803 40x54cm une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR180.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & COINY (sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29693

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : 1. Vue d'Etfoù du Sud au Nord. 3. Vue d'Etfoù du Nord au sud. (Planche 56).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de 3 vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur : N° 1. Vue d'Etfu, du sud au nord. Cette vue générale, ainsi que celle n° 3, présente l'aspect imposant de ce grand édifice, et de l'effet qu'il fait dans l'espace, comparé avec les édifices modernes, avec tout un village, avec les montagnes, avec toute la nature environnante. On ne peut juger d'un tel objet qu'avec de telles comparaisons ; dès que l'on est tout auprès on n'a plus d'échelles, un fragment devient un monument, et il perd sa majesté parce qu'on n'en distingue pas la forme. J'ai toujours pensé que les voyageurs ne pouvoient trop s'occuper de cette distinction, pour donner une idée juste de ce qu'ils veulent faire connoître, et qu'avant de s'approcher de l'objet et d'en attaquer les détails, ils doivent toujours en présenter la vue générale, qui tienne lieu de carte topographique du pays. Le n° 1 contient, sur le premier plan, le typhonium, dont on a la vue plus détaillée planche LVII, n° 1. Le village d'Etfu, le temple d'Apollinopolis magna, du côté de l'entrée, son portique, et son sanctuaire, son mur de circonvallation, dont on se rendra compte en voyant le plan, planche LXI ; derriere est le Nil, et la vallée, bordée à l'est par la chaîne arabique. N° 3. La vue du même temple, du nord au sud ; sur le devant la grande route qui amene d'Esné à Etfu, bordée de tombeaux modernes ; le temple tout couvert d'hiéroglyphes, les fabriques modernes qui couvrent encore le comble du sanctuaire et du portique ; de droite et de gauche, le village d'Etfu, la chaîne libyque ; et dans le ciel une volée de cigognes, dont le pays abonde. Rousseurs, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 40x54cm une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR150.00

‎ VIVANT DENON Dominique & CROUTELLE L.(sculpsit) ‎

Reference : 29736

(1803)

‎Voyage dans la Basse et Haute Egypte : 1. Bathen êl-baqarah ou le ventre de la vache. 2. Vue de Chebréïs. 3. Chebréïs après le Combat. (Planche 87).<br />‎

‎" - Didot, Paris 1803, 40x54cm, une feuille. - Gravure originale in folio non rognée, extraite du Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte de Vivant Denon. Planche composée de trois vues ainsi décrites par l'auteur : N° 1. Bathen-êl-Baqarah ou le ventre de la vache ; c'est la pointe sud du triangle du Delta, qui sépare le Nil en deux branches, et l'envoie ainsi partagé se jeter dans la Méditerranée : cette position est une des plus belles de l'Egypte, celle qui seroit peut-être préférable pour y établir la ville qui en deviendroit nécessairement la capitale ; au centre des plus riches provinces, à portée de tout, elle seroit approvisionnée tout naturellement par le commerce des ports de la Méditerranée, et par toutes les productions de l'Afrique que lui apporteroit le Nil : jusqu'à présent il n'y a cependant dans cette situation privilégiée qu'un mauvais petit village qui n'a pas seulement un petit port. A droite est la branche qui conduit à Damiette ; à gauche, celle de Rosette, qui, pendant un moment de l'année, arrive jusqu'à Alexandrie par le canal de Rachmanier. N° 2. Vue de Chebreis, village où l'armée vint prendre position la premiere fois qu'elle aborda le Nil. N° 3. Les ruines du combat de Chebreis, qui eut lieu entre la flottille française, commandée par le contre-amiral Pérès, et les forces navales des Mamelouks ; les deux groupes de fumée indiquent comment les troupes de terre vinrent respectivement au secours des barques, et comment, après avoir perdu et repris ses bâtiments, chacun emmena ce qui étoit resté en état de faire route. Cette estampe, gravée par le citoyen Croutelle, est d'un ton délicat et transparent, qui donne une idée parfaite de la diaphanéité de l'atmosphere d'Egypte. Quelques rousseurs, une légère trace de pliure angulaire, sinon bel état de conservation. Publié pour la première fois en deux volumes, dont un atlas de gravures, chez Didot, en 1802, le 'Voyage dans la Basse et la Haute Égypte' connut un tel succès qu'il fut traduit dès 1803 en Anglais et en Allemand, puis quelques années plus tard en Hollandais et en Italien, notamment. Presque toutes les planches sont dessinées par Denon, qui en a aussi gravé lui-même un petit nombre, notamment des portraits d'habitants d'Egypte, qui ont encore gardée toute la fraîcheur d'esquisses prises sur le vif (nos 104-111). Une bonne vingtaine de graveurs ont également collaboré à la création des eaux-fortes dont Baltard, Galien, Réville et d'autres. Dominique Vivant, baron Denon, dit Vivant Denon, né à Givry le 4 janvier 1747 et mort à Paris le 27 avril 1825, est un graveur, écrivain, diplomate et administrateur français. A l'invitation de Bonaparte, il se joint à l'expédition d'Egypte en embarquant dès le 14 mai 1798 sur la frégate "" La Junon "". Protégé par les troupes françaises, il a l'opportunité de parcourir le pays dans tous les sens, afin de rassembler le matériau qui servit de base à son travail artistique et littéraire le plus important. Il accompagne en particulier le général Desaix en Haute Egypte, dont il rapporte de très nombreux croquis, lavis à l'encre et autres dessins à la plume, à la pierre noire, ou à la sanguine. Il dessine sans relâche, le plus souvent sur son genou, debout ou même à cheval, et parfois jusque sous le feu de l'ennemi. A l'issue d'un voyage de 13 mois durant lesquels il dessine plusieurs milliers de croquis, Vivant Denon rentre en France avec Bonaparte, et devient le premier artiste à publier le récit de cette expédition. Les 141 planches qui accompagnent son Journal retracent l'ensemble de son voyage, depuis les côtes de la Corse jusqu'aux monuments pharaoniques de la Haute Egypte. Bonaparte le nomme ensuite directeur général du musée central de la République, qui devient le musée Napoléon, puis le musée royal du Louvre et administrateur des arts. En 1805, Vivant Denon relance le projet de la colonne Vendôme, qui avait été suspendu en 1803. Il organise ensuite des expéditions dans toute l'Europe impériale pour amasser les objets d'art, qui sont pillés pour être emportés au Louvre. En 1814, Louis XVIII le confirme à la tête du Louvre, dont une aile porte encore son nom aujourd'hui. Il est considéré comme un grand précurseur de la muséologie, de l'histoire de l'art et de l'égyptologie. - Photos sur www.Edition-originale.com - [AUTOMATIC ENGLISH TRANSLATION FOLLOWS] Original, unshaved, full-page etching from the ""Imperial edition"" of the Description de l'Égypte, or 'Recueil des observations et recherches faites en Égypte pendant l'expédition française, publié par les ordres de Sa Majesté l'Empereur Napoléon le Grand [A Collection of the observations and research carried out in Egypt during the French expedition, published on the orders of his Majesty the Emperor Napoleon the Great]'. Produced between February 1802 and 1830 on the orders of Naopleon Bonaparte and published between 1809 and 1828, 1,000 copies were printed and distributed to institutions, on vergé paper with an 'Égypte ancienne et moderne' watermark, visible when held up to the light. Light marginal spotting not touching image, otherwise in very fresh, fine condition. An engraving from the Description de l'Egypte, one of the masterpieces of French printing and the birth of a new field: Egyptology. A gigantic survey of Egypt at the time of Bonaparte's conquests in 1798 and 1799, the work is divided into 13 volumes of engravings making up 892 plates, of which 72 colored, as well as presenting the splendors of the Egypt of the Pharaohs in 9 volumes. The other volumes discuss natural history and present a fascinating portrait of Coptic and Islamic Egypt as it was seen by Bonaparte's Eastern Armies. The 'Egyptian campaign', militarily a disaster, demonstrates, through the engravings of the Description d'Egypte, the scientific success it nonetheless became thanks to the 167 expert members of the Commission of the Sciences and Arts of the Institut d'Egypte [Egyptian Institute] who followed Napoleon's army. The Institut gathered together in Egypt the mathematician Monge, the chemist Berthollet, the naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire as well as numerous artists, engineers, architects and doctors. They were tasked with re-discovering modern and ancient Egypt and displaying its natural treasures as well as the know-how of its inhabitants. This edition, the so-called ""Imperial"" edition of the plates for the Description de l'Egypte was printed in four large formats, two of which were specially created for it and christened ""Moyen-Egypte"" and ""Grand-Egypte"". A special press was built to print it, the process extending over 20 years, from 1809 to 1829. The ""Imperial"" edition proved so popular that a second edition, this time in black and white and without the ""Egypte ancienne et moderne"" watermark - known as the ""Royal Edition"" - was published during the Restoration by the printing house of C.-L.-F. Panckoucke (Paris). The engravings of the Description d'Egypte owe a great deal to Baron Dominique-Vivant Denon, illustrator, diplomat, collector and later Director of the Musée Napoléon (the Louvre). His exploration of the South of Egypt gave Bonaparte the idea of sending the experts of the Institut there, thus creating a faithful and complete portrait of the area. This was the research gathered together from 1802 in the mammoth Description de L'Egypte. Denon embarked on this story of archeological exploration at the age of 51, reaching first Alexandria and then Cairo before exploring Upper Egypt. Along with the members of the Institut d'Egypte, the Natural History Museum's painter H.J. Redouté (brother of Pierre-Joseph Redouté, author of Roses), the mineralogist Dolomiue, and the draughtsman Joly, Denon then explored the Nile Delta and Lower Egypt. When, however, he joined the 21st Light Infantry Regiment as it marched across Upper Egypt in pursuit of the retreating Mameluks in November 1798, he found himself the only civilian. In the very midst of the battle itself, he reeled off sketches of the works of art that peppered his path right up to the threshold of the Sudan. He said that he had crossed ""a country that is, apart from its name, entirely unknown to Europeans, and therefore everything was worth describing"" (Voyages dans la Basse et la Haute Egypte pendant les campagnes de Bonaparte en 1798 et 1799, 1817). On his return to Cairo, the great general, spellbound by Denon's accounts and drawings ordered two commissions to be set up, led by the engineers Fourier and Costaz. They were tasked with the scientific study of the ancient remains in Upper Egypt; research that proved a significant contribution to the monumental Description d'Egypte, from which this plate is taken. ANCIENT EGYPTThese engravings therefore represent a unique body of material that contributed to Jean-François Champollion's deciphering of hieroglyphics, and which mark the beginning of the line of Mariette, Maspero and Carter, who would reshape the face of Ancient Egypt. They also started a craze that gave birth to the phenomenon of Egyptomania and the Orientalism of Delacroix, Fromentin, Marilhat, Decamps and Théophile Gautier. Financiers, politicians, merchants and all kinds of treasure-hunters made their way to the banks of the Nile in search of riches, following this rediscovery of Egypt. The originators of Egyptology, these plates were to have a hugely influential afterlife. NATURAL HISTORYThese engravings show the scientific genius of the French experts then working on the ground in Egypt, laying the foundations for its becoming a French colony. This colonizing project, which had been mooted since the reign of Louis XIV, was now accompanied - with Bonaparte's arrival - by an in-depth study of the country's fauna and flora thanks to the work of the most eminent naturalists, mineralogists, and entomologists of the day. The Description de l'Egypte shows all of this immense scientific undertaking through its engravings, which were done after drawings by members of the Academy of Science, including Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hillaire, Alire Raffenau-Delile and Henri-Joseph Redouté. In the words of Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, ""We have gathered the material for the greatest work that a nation could hope to undertake. In mourning the fate of so many brave soldiers who - after so many glorious exploits - fell in Egypt, we shall be able to console ourselves that such precious works came into being."" MODERN EGYPTThe genius of the experts of the Institut d'Egypte is revealed in the plates of the section known as ""Modern Egypte"". Architecture, industry, social organization, conditions of health, irrigation, music, and crafts, are all presented with exceptional precision and powers of description. The spirit of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie runs through the work of the draughtsmen of the Description de L'Egypte, who accompanied the text volumes with numerous detailed plates, undertaking to produce a portrait of the local population that was imbued with both beauty and respect. Wealthy Pashas and simple artisan potters are sensitively represented here, going about their business in beautifully composed images that nonetheless do not fall into the traps of idealism or caricature. ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE (the ""Cairo"" plates) The set of engravings to which this plate belongs constitutes one of the first complete studies of the monuments of Islamic Egypt in Cairo, bringing together maps, sections and elevations of mosques, mausoleums and fortifications, from the Tulunid era in the 9th century up to the Mameluk constructions contemporaneous with the arrival of the Bonapartist troops. At the same time, the architects and engineers of the Institut d'Egypte also made a big series of plates dedicated to civilian housing and edifices in Cairo, including both grander and more modest constructions, providing a precious picture of life in Cairo at the end of the 19th century. BAB AL FOUTOUH Bab el-Foutouh, "" The Conquest Gate"" marks the northern limit of Fatimid old Cairo. Rebuilt in 1087, it is highly defensive in nature owing to the turbulent climate in 11th Century Cairo, which saw a number of popular uprisings. An imposing gate, it has two semicircular towers with low-slung arches made of heavy blocks of stone anchored within the ramparts. The sizeable passage through the gate (4.85m wide by 6.79m high) has a shallow dome. BAB EL NASR Bab el-Nasr, ""The Victory Gate"" is on the northern wall of the Fatimid fortress in Cairo. Its two enormous rectangular towers were rebuilt in 1087 after a long period of popular uprisings. On this highly attractive frontal image signed Protain, one can admire the sculpted shields in the corners of the gate and on the towers, symbolizing victory and protection against invaders. After taking Cairo, Napoleon named all the towers along the wall of the fortress after the officers assigned to guard them. Their names are still engraved on the upper parts of the walls of the gate. SULTAN HASSAN MOSQUEThe massive architectural complex constructed by Sultan Hassan at the foot of the citadel in Cairo was built in the ostentatious style so characteristic of Mameluk architecture. Completed in 1356, the Sultan Hassan Mosque has a monumental gate and a 57m high minaret. This group of buildings, comprising a mausoleum that was never put to use, was strategically built on the site of a square that saw the start of a number of popular uprisings. The mosque was heavily inspired by Iranian models. Philae This plate is taken from a set of engravings dedicated to the Temple of Isis on the island of Philae. The final bastion of the worship of the ancient Egyptian gods, the temple of Isis was the last pagan temple to be in use before it was closed in the 6th century A.D. under Justinian. Construction on the temple began under the Ptolemies, a period of growth for the Isis cult. Isis was the sister and wife of Osiris and mother to Horus. Kom Ombo (Ombos) The Kom Ombo site, 40 kilometers from Aswan, is home to one of the best preserved ancient Egyptian temples, dedicated to Sobek, a crocodile god and Haroeris, a form of Horus. Built in the Ptolemaic era, it was actually founded during the XVIIIth Dynasty. Its massive Composite capitals and highly accomplished reliefs are captured accurately by the draughtsmen of the Institut d'Egypte, Jollois, Balzac and Cécile. The dual aspect of its design, intended for worship of two different divine triads - those of Sobek and Haroeris - is reproduced in great detail by the architects and engineers of the Egyptian campaign through this set of prints, which preceded the first archeological digs in the building by Auguste Mariette in 1828. Edfu This plate is taken from a series of views of the great temple at Edfu and the various buildings in its cultic complex. The temple of Horus, a jewel of Ptolemaic architecture and exceptionally well-preserved, is made up of a majestic entry gate and a hypostyle chamber, which are both extensively documented thanks to the engravings by the experts of the Institut d'Egypte. Begun in 237 BC by Ptolemy III and completed 180 years later under Tiberius, it proved an extraordinary sight for the draughtsmen come to explore the left bank of the Nile. Esna and its environs The town of Esna (Esneh or Latopolis in Bonaparte's time), lies fifty kilometers to the south of Luxor. The experts from the Institut de l'Egypte documented their discovery of its temple, dedicated to Khnum, one of the gods of creation who worked with clay and had the head of a ram; he controlled the life-giving flooding of the Nile, the source of fertility. He was associated with Nebt-uu, the mistress of the countryside and Menhyt, a goddess with the head of a lion. This temple, partially rebuilt during the Ptolemaic era, was added to right up to the reign of Tiberius. The draughtsmen also produced a number of views of the neighboring temples, most notably the less well-preserved temple of Contra-Latopolis to the north of Esna. Thebes Medinet-Habu Close to Thebes and Luxor on the left bank of the Nile, the city of Medinet-Habu is home to one of the most attractive temples of New Kingdom period Egypt, the mortuary temple of Ramses III. This dates from the middle of the 12th century BC, and is based on the famous Ramesseum of his predecessor, which it surpasses in size. A funerary temple celebrating the Pharaoh, the experts of the Institut d'Egypte set about creating cross-sections, plans and elevations, and most especially capturing its numerous bas-reliefs. The architects and draughtsmen also focused on the Royal Palace and its internal peristyle within the 12-metre fortress that encircles the religious complex, including the Temple of Amon, located at the south-east of the site and begun in the reign of Hatshepsut at the end of the 15th Century BC. Memnonium The Memnonium, a name used by visitors to the Valley of the Kings from 1750 to 1850, refers to a set of three royal buildings constructed during the New Kingdom: the Ramesseum, the Temple of Amenhotep III and the Temple of Sethi I. The draughtsmen and architects of Bonaparte's Institut, sent out on expedition across Upper Egypt from 1799 documented Thebes and the Valley of the Kings, even attempting to reconstruct some of the buildings on the basis of descriptions by Classical authors. The tomb of Ozymandias (one of the numerous names of Ramses II), in a very poor state, thus became the subject of very thorough study and an attempt to fill in its missing bits on the basis of the writings of Diodurus Siculus. This Greek historian of the Augustine period stayed in the valley of the Nile from 60-57 BC and his visit to the tomb of Ramses II is recounted in his monumental Bibliotheca Historica (Book I, XLVII-XLIX).At the same time, the experts also made extremely detailed studies and views of the Colossi of Memnon, all that remains of a huge memorial temple to Amenhotep III built on the road to the necropolis in the Valley of the Kings. These colossi were located at the entrance to the temple in front of a preliminary pylon made of brick. These two statues represent King Amenhotep III framed to the right by the great Royal Consort Tiy and to the left by the Queen Mother Mutemwiya. Hypogea and Biban el Moluk This plate is taken from a series of engravings of the hypogea in the Valley of the Kings (Biban el Moluk) in Thebes. Some are in color to show the vivid hues of the sarcophaguses and mysterious murals whose secret had yet to be broken by Jean-François Champollion. The draughtsmen of the Institut, including the famous Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, sent by Napoleon to cover Upper Egypt in 1799, capture with élan the royal mummies and the artifacts that accompanied the dead in their journey to the netherworld: urns, furniture, weapons, idols and the mummies of numerous mammals and birds. Karnak This plate is from a set on the Great Temple at Karnak, built during the New Kingdom at the time of Ramses III. This enormous complex is divided into three parts and is dedicated to the Theban Triad of gods, Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Its sculptures, internal bas-reliefs and sunken reliefs on the external facades are intricately captured by the engineers of the Institut, while the architects worked out the complex groundplan of this edifice, which was divided into facades, colonnaded halls and sacral spaces reserved for the temple priests. The alley of the monumental sphinx which links the site to the Luxor site was also the subject of a plate by Lepère, an architect from the Institut who took part in the expedition across Upper Egypt. Dendera The experts executed views and drawings of the temples of Dendera (or Tentyra), a city in Upper Egypt 60km to the north of Luxor. They have captured, with an exceptional degree of graphic artistry, the thick, round nature of the sculpted reliefs of the great Temple of Hathor, built under the Ptolemies in the first half of the 1st century BC. They also produced interesting views of the neighboring temples as well as a selection of reliefs of the ""Dendera Zodiac"", a chapel dedicated to Osiris and located beneath the temple of Hathor. Its famous astronomical relief was discovered by the French General Desaix - stationed in Upper Egypt by Bonaparte from 1798 - and taken back to France in 1821 by Claude Lelorrain; it is now on display in the Louvre. Another astronomical and cosmological relief on the ceiling of the hypostyle hall of the Temple of Hathor is the subject of a magnificent plate by Jollois and Devilliers. This covers seven soffit coffers of the ceiling and is an immense allegorical image showing several levels of consciousness: that of cosmogony, the constellations and their effect on the Earth, the creation of Man, and the Nomes of Egypt, symbolized by 21 pairs of wings topped with the red crown of Lower Egypt and the white tiara of Upper Egypt. The Pyramids at Memphis The Giza Plateau, near Memphis, is home to three of the most famous Ancient Egyptian Pyramids, the tombs of Cheops, Khafre and Menkaure, Pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty (2620-2500 BC). The experts of the Institut, hurrying to Memphis, explored the plateau and made numerous views of these majestic pyramids, towering over inhabitants and mounted figures. They also made minutely detailed views of the epigraphs on the tombs adjacent to the pyramids, as well as views of the Sphinx of Gaza near the Pyramid of Khafre. Views of Alexandria A plate taken from a set of view of Alexandria as it was found by Napoleon's army in June 1798. Embarking in Toulon on the 14th May, his troops disembarked at Alexandria a month later and explored this port city before heading towards Cairo to take the capital. " Didot Paris _1803 40x54cm une feuille‎


Le Feu Follet - Paris

Phone number : 01 56 08 08 85

EUR150.00
Previous 1 ... 355 356 357 358 ... 360 362 364 366 368 ... 370 Next Exact page number ? OK
Get it on Google Play Get it on AppStore
Egypt

The item was added to your cart

You have just added :

-

There are/is 0 item(s) in your cart.
Total : €0.00
(without shipping fees)
More information about shipping
What can I do with a user account ?

What can I do with a user account ?

  • All your searches are memorised in your history which allows you to find and redo anterior searches.
  • You may manage a list of your favourite, regular searches.
  • Your preferences (language, search parameters, etc.) are memorised.
  • You may send your search results on your e-mail address without having to fill in each time you need it.
  • Get in touch with booksellers, order books and see previous orders.
  • Publish Events related to books.

And much more that you will discover browsing Livre Rare Book !